Satellite
Show on map
  • Nimbin

    June 10, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    A venomous snake, feline seizures, and a very special dinner guest.

    Who would have thought - Nimbin. I had 2 weeks here in a beautiful permaculture property and spacious surrounds. It was a good start and an opportunity to settle with my thoughts and commit to the journey. Had a quick lightning round trip to Murwillumbah to visit an old friend who actually solidified my blog name (thanks Cloudy) 1000's of potholes and washed-away roads were quite confronting but it’s a little piece of paradise.

    Challenge No1: Venomous Snake
    Tropidechis carinatus to be exact. Whhaaat! I have seen a python up close before in Coffs Harbour lazying in the sun on the driveway. Was beautiful actually, but Mr Rough belly, no thank you.

    Lucky for me it was not moving fast but a really great way to test my resilience. After a friendly visit by a neighbour to access the situation, the suggestion was to call Wires, all was sorted within a half hour and Mr Snake was in the bag taken for assessment. Yay.

    Challenge No2: Feline seizures.
    Feline what! Ok, I was told it was a possibility but not likely to happen on my watch. Ummm, well, it happened twice. Poor Charlie, and poor me. How distressing. More him than me of course but the first time it happened he was up the cat climbing tree and literally jumped into my arms as I slowly guided him to the ground sandwiched in some cushions. Mon Dieu.

    That special dinner guest.
    It had been 4 months since we saw each other face to face and our story was not even 6 months old...yes, yes, lots of calls, video, and texts but it would have been very possible and normal to meet again and it would just be polite and friendly. But... do you know the rain scene from Notebook? It was like that - well, sort of, except there was no rain, and although he is strong, not that strong to carry this curvy woman haha. The feeling was amazing and those 4 months just disappeared. What a lovely surprise.
    Read more