Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Cirali evening swim

    September 14, 2022 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    We arrived at Cirali in the afternoon with just enough time to setup the tent and then go for a swim. The campings were all pretty similar, lots of trees, and a mix of tents and bungalows.
    We were surprised to find out how many Russians are in this area. Even the camp owner where we stayed was a Russian woman in her thirties.
    While setting up the tent, I found a necklace, which I left in a tree nearby. A small tribute :)

    Cirali is quite small, so the walk from the camping to the beach only took us a few short minutes. Bonus points because it went through a small cacti park.

    The beach was one of the wider ones we’ve seen. It was windy, so also a bit wavy, but either way, really nice for a swim. I was touched to see a family that had also brought their grandma with them. Two people supported her as she walked into the water. Then she got an inflatable support and really enjoyed herself. The happiness on her face was touching. It brought me tears to watch them be together like that, 3 generations, thinking about my own grandma and how I would’ve liked to offer her such a moment. Even writing about this makes me tear up again.
    It was a beautiful moment, for sure.
    Read more