Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    El Calafate

    March 24, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Back to Argentina 🇦🇷 El Calafate is the in Santa Cruz province of Argentina and it is a really pretty little alpine town. The main reason to come is to visit the Perito Moreno Glacier in the national park, so I'm only staying a few days to do that and then leave because Patagonia is very expensive!

    Los Glaciares National Park is 82km north of El Calafate so I went on a tour to go and see the glacier. It's probably (apart from Iguazu) the coolest nature I have seen so far on this trip! The glacier itself is 5km wide and 70m tall. The closer you get to it the more you realise just how huge it is, and they say that only 10% of it can be seen above the water so it's even bigger below. The day itself was really sunny and so picturesque. If you wait long enough you can even see and hear some of the bits of ice fall off the glacier which is really cool. We had 4 hours there which was a very long time so I managed to get loads of photos.

    Next up I've got a 2 day bus to Bariloche 😖 before I say goodbye to Patagonia for good and head up north to eat cheese and wine (and hopefully catch some more rays as my tan from Brazil is now virtually non-existent). Patagonia has been literally amazing but I am sometimes a bit disappointed with how ridiculously expensive things are which make it an off-putting place to come. That being said I've seen some incredible landscapes which you just don't get anywhere else in the world!
    Read more