Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    San Carlos de Bariloche

    March 29, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    To understand Bariloche you first have to understand the 32 bus journey it took to get there from El Calafate which was, by no definition dull but BY NO DEFINITION fun or something I ever want to repeat.

    The journey was going great until half way through, when we stopped off at Perito Moreno and picked up Willie - a crazy Argentinian man who thought it would be a good idea to provoke us by singing, playing the guitar, shouting at the tv, laughing hysterically and generally being the biggest pain of my life. That being said, he was a great uniting force for the rest of us on the bus and that's how I got to meet 2 South Africans and 2 Danish girls :)

    So fast forward, we finally arrived at 1.30am in Bariloche. Arrived at the hostel and the next day decided to walk round town - bumped into the South Africans and planned to do the cycling route round Circuito Chico the following day. I then got to the bus to Campanario which is this amazing view point of all the lakes in Bariloche (known as the Argentinian Lake District).

    The following day I met the saffers and 2 other Argentinians from their hostel and we headed out to do the Circuito Chico. This was really fun but really hard - I haven't cycled properly in years apart from the odd bike ride so it gave my muscles a real workout! At points we (mainly I) had to walk up the hills because I was so out of breath! We stopped off at different points including the Patagonia Cerverceria which is one of the best breweries in Patagonia apparently. We sat in the garden and had a beer in the sun with this amazing viewpoint. Bariloche looks a lot like Swiss Alps so you can imagine how pretty it was.

    That evening I met up with the saffers and Danish girls - we were gonna go for some drinks but there was one thjng we had to try first 🍦 ICE CREAM of course, as Bariloche is also famous for its ice cream. It finished us off however and after that we all had food comas and went to bed.

    Next stop is Pucon in Chile. Leaving Argentina again (sad) but I'm gonna be coming back in a few weeks time to do Mendoza (I didn't have time before going to Santiago and didn't wanna rush). I love Argentina, it's so hard to leave as there's so much to do here and so much more I haven't explored. I know I'll be coming back for more. Until next time..
    Read more