Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 111

    Lima

    May 24, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    I don't know why everyone slates Lima so much and tells you not to spend any time there. I had loads of fun and even ended up extending my stay.

    The first night we arrived Meri, Charlie and I met up with Lucy and Andy for some food before their flight to Colombia. We went to a fairly decent Italian place and I of course had some pizza. Even though it was quick its always nice to see Andy and Lucy (if you're reading this - hey guys 🤗).

    The next day Meri and I did the free walking tour in downtown Lima. There was a good group of us and I even bumped into one of the guys I met in Uyuni on the salt flats tour. The tour took you to the main places in downtown like the cathedral and presidential palace which was good to see. After we went to the China town and had some chifa - Chinese food. In the evening we drank in the hostel and ended up going out to a reggaeton club which was pretty funny. I was trying to practice my terribly pronounced Spanish which seems to get better when I'm drunk.

    The next day we were fairly hungover but walked to Parque Reducto in Miraflores which had a really cute artisan/ eco fair. We made lunch and then set upon the great task of deciding where to eat for dinner. After not knowing whether to go to Huaraz or Mancora I finally decided to go to Huaraz instead and booked my bus and hostel.

    I had to wait until 9.30pm for my night bus, so the next day Meri, Charlie and I went to look around Barranco which is supposedly the 'bohemian' neighbourhood of Lima. It wasn't very bohemian, not like San Telmo in BA anyway, but it was very nice. There was lots of cool street art there though and the buildings are very pretty. As this was the last day before we were all going our separate ways, we went for coffee and lunch. After Charlie left, Meri and I went to the Mate musuem which is dedicated to a famous Peruvian photographer who has taken photos of Princess Diana and Kate Moss. I really liked the museum.

    After we came back to Miraflores to look for chocolate and coffee for Meri to take back to Finland as souvenirs for her family. Not long after she left for the airport and I was on my own waiting for my night bus. When they had both left I was pretty sad because I had a really good time travelling with them and we all got on so well.

    Overall I've been pleasantly surprised by Lima. It's not the prettiest of places but there is more to do here than people make out.
    Read more