Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Carlsbad caverns/ Guadalupe Mountains

    November 19, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    Yesterday I went to Carlsbad Caverns NP. Probably my favorite cave to date. It's so big and open. I went on an audio tour which I greatly enjoyed. It was so well done. The stops were relevant and interesting. Good interpretation. The first tour I've enjoyed since interp training. But the cave itself is really cool. It had all sorts of decorations like cave popcorn and bacon and stuff. But the lighting was also really cool. They wanted to light the path but for it to still feel cavernous and not be too light as to encourage animals to come in. So they hired a Broadway lighting expert person. It's a cool cave.
    Then I camped in blm land and in the morning made the 1/2hr drive to Guadalupe mountains. I summited Guadalupe peak which was a rough 9 mile hike but I made it. It was really gorgeous up there. It's literally a desert so there were so many cool cacti and things. And thankfully it wasn't too hot. Then I went back to the blm land where coyotes were howling all night. Pretty cool couple of days.

    More adventures tomorrow!
    Read more