Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Chiang Rai -> Chiang Mai

    December 6, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    7:30 a.m. - I woke up early to have enough time for sightseeing. My hostel provided breakfast for free and they had really good chocolate banana waffles.

    8:30 a.m. - I went at first to the “Wat Rong Suea Ten” also known as the White Temple to avoid the tourist groups. The temple and the surroundings are really impressive.

    9:30 a.m. - After that I drunk a coffee and continued to the “Wat Rong Suea Ten” also known as the Blue Temple. Also really impressive but not finished yet.

    11 a.m. - Then I went to the “Baan Dam Museum” also known as the Black House. Nice to see the buildings and the history but nothing special.

    12 p.m. - For lunch I ate fried rice with chicken and egg + a thai tea to drink. Thai tea is really underrated and one of my favorite drinks.

    1:30 p.m. - I drove back to the hostel.

    2 p.m. - I arrived in the hostel, gave my motorbike bake and relaxed a bit before I went to the bus station.

    3:30 p.m. - I arrived at the bus station and met Elena, who arrived at this time, for the last time in a while.

    4 p.m. - Departure back to Chiang Mai.

    7:30 p.m. - I arrived in Chiang Mai again. My hostel was a little bit outside of the center but near the airport. It is really small but cozy and there bathroom was really clean.

    8 p.m. - As usual I got some food from the nightmarket.

    9 p.m. - After I ate I took a refreshing shower in the hostel. There I met Kassidy a girl how was in my elephant sanctuary group. She is going to the south as well and maybe we meet up there.

    Summary:
    Chiang Rai has not convinced me. The temples are cool and nice to see but there is nothing else. The city is really small and there is nothing to do. Furthermore if you compare it to Chiang Mai it is not really beautiful and this was once the capital city. So one night was totally enough for me but I want to see the golden triangle sometime.
    Read more