Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Koh Tao -> Surat Thani

    December 15, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    5:15 a.m. - I woke up early because we wanted to see the sunrise. I slept bad because someone set the AC to 20 degrees and I was freezing.

    5:45 a.m. - I met Bard and we drove to the “love koh tao” viewpoint for the sunrise. But we were unlucky because it was cloudy so we saw just a little from the sunrise. It was really disappointing because we woke up so early.

    7 a.m. - So we left and got us some breakfast.

    7:30 a.m. - After that we arrived at the bar from yesterday at shark bay because the owner told us you can see small sharks there in the morning and also sea turtles. The only problem was that the visibility was shit because of high waves. You could just saw your own hand.

    8:30 a.m. - The morning was really frustrating so we went back to the hostel. I took a nap, packed my bag and checked out.

    12 p.m. - I met Bard and we went to “freedom beach” for lunch because Troy recommended us the restaurant there. The beach was beautiful and a perfect spot to go snorkeling or relaxing. Afterwards we climbed 20 minutes to the viewpoint which was there as well. The view was breathtaking you could see freedom beach on the left side and shark bay on the right side from there.

    3 p.m. - Afterwards we went to tanote bay which was really cool as well because there is a big rock in the sea on which you can climb and do some cliff jumping.

    5 p.m. - After that we went to shark bay again and met Toby there. We went snorkeling again and this time the visibility wasn’t that bad. After a while I spotted a huge sea turtle. Suddenly there appeared another one. In total we saw seven diffraction turtle’s from small to big. It was so beautiful just watching them eating and chilling. And after a while bard spotted a Blacktip Reef Shark. It was a big one but he was really fast and it was hard to follow. And we couldn’t get a picture of him. All in all a amazing experience but I got a little cut when I got out of the water.

    7 a.m. - It got a bit late so we had a hurry. I needed to buy some new internet after that we went back to the center to bring the scooter back. Then we took a quick shower in Bard’s hostel and got dinner.

    8 a.m. - I got a free taxi ride to the pier because I went with Bard. We were early to catch the night ferry. So we finished our bad start in the day perfect.

    Summary:
    Koh Tao is a beautiful island where I could have stayed some day’s more. Furthermore the island is perfect to learn diving. There a cool dive spots for training and to see the sea-life. There are also nice spots to snorkel and it’s easy to party as well. I really enjoyed my stay there especially the diving and exploring the island by your own. All in all a very lovely island to relax but you need a scooter to get around and the weather wasn’t the best. I mean it could have been worser but I missed the sun.

    P.S.: My first month of traveling is over and I enjoy it more and more
    Read more