Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 67

    Taman Negara Jungle Trip Day 2

    January 20, 2023 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 22 °C

    8 a.m. - I woke up after a decent night im a cave. I didn’t got a proper sleeping bag so I was cold in the night. Furthermore it was obviously pretty hard and I woke up multiple times. I really enjoyed all the noises you could hear. The rain, frogs, insects for outside and bats inside the cave. But all in all I thought it would be worse. We ate some simple breakfast. Just some toast with yam, banana cake and some coffee.

    9:30 a.m. - We got ready for the day. Unfortunately it started to rain before we started walking again. So the conditions were worse than the day before. The hole track was more or less just mud and we needed to cross some deeper rivers. It was exhausting but also a lot of fun when you just accepted it and didn’t care anymore.

    2 p.m. - We arrived the camp after another 12.5 km completely dirty, wet everywhere and full of leeches. I tried to cleaned most of my stuff there. Afterwards we got some lunch.

    3:30 p.m. - Afterwards we visited a aborigine village. Our guide explained us some of the history of there tribe and how the live. The showed us how to make fire just with wood and how to hunt with a blow pipe. Furthermore the showed me how to roll there cigarettes and I could tried them. Way to strong for me especially without filter.

    5:30 p.m. - We arrived back in civilization, changed our accommodation and relaxed for a bit. In the shower I found two more leech bites.

    7 p.m. - We went out for dinner. I got Pattaya for the first time. A really easy and tasty dish I could make at home. Unfortunately one of the leech bites didn’t stop bleeding. I tried a lot of different things but nothing worked. It just kept bleeding. We didn’t knew what to do so we tried to find the plant, which should stop blood. One of the things our guide thought us on the hike. Unfortunately we couldn’t find the plant but some locals so we asked them. They were so friendly and helpful. One of the drove somewhere, I don’t know where, to get some local medicine for me. Adorable. I don’t have any idea what it was, a kind of cream, and it looked really weird. Anyways it helped to stop the bleeding really fast.
    Read more