Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 114

    Kuta

    March 8, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    8:30 a.m. - I got breakfast in the café of the hostel.

    9:30 a.m. - Afterwards I tried to topped up my data which was more difficult than I thought. Nah I just was to stupid to see the Telkomsel shop just around the corner.

    10 a.m. - I visited the local Sade village to get to know more about the culture. Just some short facts there are over 90 houses made out of bamboo, grass, wood and clay with over more than 400 people. They have their own religion which is nature based but influenced by Hinduism and Muslim. They marry their cousins and the have their own language called Sasak. A local showed me around and introduced me into their lifestyle. They are all farmers so they grow rice, corn, cotton and different animals. I could visit their houses and tried their cigarettes and rice coffee which was quite interesting.

    12 p.m. - For lunch I went to a restaurant near the bat cave. There I waited until the sun was perfect for some nice cave shots with good light. We went into the cave and the smell of all the bat shit was disgusting. It was really really bad and also the amount of cockroaches and other insects made it not better. Anyways it was worth it for the experience to see all the bats and the amazing photo conditions.

    2:30 p.m. - Afterwards I went back to the hostel for a bit of rest and chilled at the pool. I am still not at a hundert precent energy.

    6 p.m. - Later I went to the cave again to see all the bats leaving when the sun set’s. It was just incredible how many bats left the cave at the same time. You could even feel the wind of all the bats. Furthermore the scenery was also crazy because of the sunset. Breathtaking experience definitely.
    Read more