Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 91

    My Chamomile Dog

    July 25, 2019 in Mongolia ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Rexby is the absolute water dog. If he doesn't find water, water will find him in all its glorious conditions and shades: fresh, salty, green algae and who doesn't like a mud bath. All these conditions of course come with smells as well, not always very pleasant in the confines of a camper van.
    Since we are in the steppe however this has changed. Still lots of bodies of water, but the steppe is covered with a lot of herbs, mainly chamomile (Kamille). Every step releases the perfume of this herb and my dog, roaming and sniffing at every possibility picks up this scent and now smells lovely and clean.
    But not only his scent, as well his behavior: he acts thistle ( Diestel) but behaves chamomile.
    Cows don't run away, how boring, and may kick, horses may initially run, but then stop and kick, but the worst are those Yaks: one of them may run, but then the rest of them bundle up and chase you and they definitely kick so you have to turn and gain some land quick smart. Very scary! But it's safe beside Mum.
    I never knew he had such a growl as he reserves for the Yaks. Incredible looking animals they are. Very beautiful in a beastly way. Richtige Urviecher! I'm sure they are related with the bisons? Once again in google land I will looks this up.
    With me he is all chamomile as well. He is obedient or tries to, really kuddly, guards, Checks in with me at regular intervals. Sometimes when i lose track of him he takes of with his new friend or a squirrel whistles far away and he has to find it. It comes in handy that I had tried for the last year, rather unsuccessful I have to admit, to whistle with my fingers and nothing more than a meagre tweet would come from it, if at all. Suddenly i have mastered the art of finger whistling and it works a treat. One of my ear piercing whistles and you see a speck of my dog arrive on the horizon. Well, or two. Whistles. there is just no more pretending one didn't hear. But he might already be on his way for all I know!
    PS: just returned from our walk when he found an earth squirrel and killed it. No chamomile dog after all.
    Read more