Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 146

    Helping Hands!

    September 18, 2019 in Kyrgyzstan ⋅ ☀️ 8 °C

    I hadn't been on the road for too long this morning, when between the noises of the corrugated road I hear a metallic clonk. First I thought a pot had fallen out of the cupboard, but then again the sound wouldn't have been so heavy. Had I lost some essential bit of my car? So in reverse I go to the clonck spot, and oh no, when looking forward I see some drops marking the ground. When checking this out I see the fuel dripping from my tank. I still need to know what I had lost and find a heavy piece off metal. Is this apart of my springs? No these are complete. I think when driving along the road I must have driven over over this piece, it flicked up and hit my tank.
    I drove back to the village I just had come through, ask the first men I met there for a mechanic. They are looking under my car, lots of talking, no understanding on my part, eventually a third man appears and goes to work to glue the hole. In the meantime I get whisked into the house and served all sorts of freshly and home made goodies. By coincidence my on and of travel companions Lena and Christoph are traveling past, see my car and come to check out what's going on. I was very pleased as through Lena, being Russian, i could finally really talk to these lovely people and express my greatfulness and appreciation.
    At the end the guys checked out if they could find a home for this metal piece, but nothing seemed to be missing.
    I am amazed how these people just help, without fuss, without question, without wanting anything in return. Thank you so much for this wonderful experience!
    Read more