Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 313

    Where the Road goes down,it has to go up

    March 3, 2020 in Saudi Arabia ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Our next goal was Faifa, an apparently green, lush Village high up in the mountains.
    Having driven down the road from the plateau to Rijal Alma we knew the roads can be quite steep and taking into account Lola’s quite girly attitude when it comes to steep inclines, we carefully chose the least steep road. Still, oh my, once we got there, we realised the inclines go up to 50%. Honestly! We decided that Jasmin went to drive ahead and look for a good overnight spot, as I knew I had to take it slow and it is going to take me some while. Well, let me say it like this, I had a lot of opportunities to admire the monkeys on this road. Drive a few 100m, let it cool, admire monkeys, drive few 100m, let it cool, admire the view. Do you know how steep 50% are? It would throw you out of your seat did you not have a back support!!! I was close to giving up but Jasmin coaxed me up, sending me encouraging messages, and at the end I made it. Jasmin had chosen a nice spot overlooking the valley. The only thing wrong with it were the rubbish bins close by which were noisily raided by the monkeys first thing in the morning, leaving and indescribable mess in their wake.Read more