Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Arrival in the Americas

    April 19, 2022 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I left Germany on the 15th April, with my " hand luggage" to arrive in Bogota. This arrival in Colombia was wrought with difficulties, commencing at the airport, getting my dog through customs, with the wheel stolen from Rex's tiny house. Transporting everything 800m through a big throng of people to the car rentals, just to be informed, I get the car at the airport counter. Having no live navigation system, as in the middle of the night there was no SIM card to be had, driving to a hotel that did not exist, finding a new one. Not a good start.
    As Rex is >20kg I was not able to get him onto a flight to Cartagena, where my car will eventually arrive. So I had to drive the distance in a rental. only 1030kms,, but this distance in Colombia will take you about 20 hours to drive.
    finally, in Cartagena, the accommodation I had booked to take me in with dog, did not exist either, at least not at the indicated position, but eventually, I found a place that would take us in, to await Lola.
    I had plenty of time to discover Cartagena, the old city at least being very colourful, trendy, dreamy and of course touristy. Very beautiful indeed.
    Read more