Satellite
Show on map
  • EV ROUTE PLANNING

    March 6, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Google Maps is still my number one choice when it comes to navigation. But how do I know how far I can drive my electric vehicle? And – what if there are no charging stations nearby?

    When planning a day trip with my Fiat 500e, I always ask A Better Route Planner (ABRP - apps available for Android and iOS) how often I need to charge. ABRP will advise you on where and for how long you can top up your battery.
    With one click you transfer the navigation to the next charging station in Google Maps.

    ABRP can be customized to suit your personal EV - as charging stops are dependent on your car and battery. You can also set whether you prefer many but short charging stops - or long but fewer stops (if you want to use the time for example for lunch or dinner or for sleeping, walking, shopping...).

    For example - we are starting on our trip in Magione, Umbria and our first overnight stay will be in Switzerland.
    ABRP tells me to charge three times. I will be on the road for 6.5 hours, charging 1.5 hours and driving 5 hours. Which is nice - 1.5 hours (split into short stops) is exactly what one should do to avoid driving too tired. It increases safety – and your well-being.

    No FindPenguins account but want to comment:
    Read the blog of Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/evtravellers
    Read more