Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Being Guided

    January 31 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 32 °C

    I joined a free city walking tour today. Booked via the same organisation I was doing Sydney tours for, Guruwalk. I met Imran at the appointed location, beneath a tree outside the Christ Church in Dutch Square. We were joined by two young solo travelers, Rohim from London and Guel from the far north of Germany.

    Imran was fabulous, animated and passionate, he really helped bring context and clarity to some of the streets I had already walked along. We gained insights into distinguishing the Dutch built houses from the others, learned the reasons for some of the distinguishing features of the Peranakan houses and saw the remains of the bridge destroyed by the Australians to slow down the Japanese during World War 2.

    We finished, well I finished as the others were going on to climb a big hill with lots of stairs, at a cafe near the riverwalk with iced coffee. I may have gained two new fans for the beverage.
    Read more