Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Go Sounders, go!

    August 27, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Sunday was a special day even for this trip. I walked to Lake Union to lign up at the end of a big row in front of a wooden building on a pier at the southern part of the lake. There were already a lot of people queuing up at around 10 AM. The reason was because the Center of Wooden Boats (CWB) offers free sail boat rides on Sundays. I had to wait about 20 minutes when somebody from CWB came and asked who wanted to take the last seat on a boat for 11 AM. I was lucky because the people around me still had to wait about an hour. First there hasn't been much wind and the historic wooden boat which was built in the year 1900 was going very slow. But after a while we got some good breezes. It was fun to sail on the lake and to see lots of other boats and water planes. Afterwards I jumped on a bus to reach Fremont, a neighbourhood in the north of Lake Union. There was a park from which you have a pretty view on the city. When I rode back to my apartment by bus it was time to prepare for the next highlight. A local colleague picked me up and first we had dinner. Then we went to the Century Link Field which is usually an American Football stadium, but it is also used by the Seattle Sounders FC which is the local soccer club. Therefore I have attended my first MLS game. And it was even a special one, they played the derby against the Portland Timbers which are their biggest rivals and it happened that this was position 1 against position 2 in the league. Everything was prepared for an intense game, Seattle was the better team and scored the first goal but then Portland got a penalty right before the halftime. In the second half Seattle had some great chances but wasn't able to score again, it ended 1:1. The about 51.000 spectators (Seattle has the most soccer spectators in the US) cheering a lot anyway and so it was a great night.Read more