Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 5 Santarem- Azinhaga

    September 13, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Day 5 - Santarem to Azinhaga. 13 September. Started @ 7:21 am. Finished at 2:15 pm. 27.3k/17m. Walking time 5h06m. 32,564 steps. 1214 calories.

    Wow there are other pilgrims walking. At the Santiago gate I came across 6 pilgrims. Started walking with a couple and once we got out of town our pace was different, so off I went. Unfortunately did not see them the rest of the day. The other four I saw and sat with to have breakfast & coffee. Left and walked with Denise from Edmonton, Canada for the rest of the way, until I stopped and she was walking to the next town.

    Walked through vineyards and corn fields almost all day. So easy on the legs. Denise and I were gabbing too intently and missed an arrow so had to backtrack about 2 km.

    I’m staying at Casa dos Portas and what a gem. 800 m off the Caminho path, but worth the effort. It had a swimming pool! Newer building and had a garden just very relaxing place to wind down. Had my first communal pilgrim meal. The four of us staying here ate together.

    Already late so making this a bit short.

    Enjoy the photos and the journey. Bom Caminho.
    Read more