Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Day 8 Rest Day in Tomar

    September 16, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 72 °F

    Day 8 Rest Day in Tomar. Saturday, September 16. Sightseeing walked 9.5k/6m

    It’s raining! Thunder & lightening too. Ventured out about 9:00. Hit the pharmacy for some foot cream with exfoliate for my rough heels and more tape. Had a healthy breakfast of scrambled eggs, greens and bacon. Got an extra pair of socks, if I decide to start wearing them for my walks.

    Pouring Rain Again. Chilled out in my nice big, bright, airy room for a couple hours. Then it was off for a hike up to the Templar Castle & Convent of Christ.

    The Templar Castle was built in 1160 in the image of Middle-East castles. I was able to walk around the grounds and the walls. Photos provide an idea of its size.

    Convent of Christ (World Heritage site) part of castle grounds and built from the 12th century. It was home to the Order of Christ from the 14c onwards. This place is massive. I took a lot of photos. Just hard to explain the art, tiling, architecture, etc.

    Visited a couple churches and back to room to get my pack reorganized. It sure was nice not to have to pack it all up & put it on today! Tomorrow back to the path.

    Enjoy the photos and captions. Bom Caminho
    Read more