Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    From airport San José to Fleur de Lys

    September 25, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    After I withdrew some money, I found my driver and thought: well, I'm looking forward to the first impressions while driving through the town…

    Of course, the first adventure was a blast, because halfway through the city all the lights on the dashboard went out and the windshield wipers became slower and slower. Not quite so ideal when it's raining heavily - and it was already dark - a kind of blind ride.

    The indicator didn't work anymore either, but the headlights - well at least something! The fun was probably due to the rain and my driver nervously started making phone calls.

    The windshield wiper was still getting slower and slower and started to stop in the middle - was that an accident at the side of the road? I couldn’t see anything anymore.

    At some point the rain got lighter and I thought: at least something, hopefully he won't stall the car and then it won't start again.

    But when the rain lessened, at some point the fittings started to flicker again and then they glowed continuously again. Finally I arrived at the hotel save and sound (but it was already dark, this are only canned photos).

    So this is my hotel: a small, charming hotel in the cultural district of San José. Instead of numbers, each room is named after a type of flower native to Costa Rica. Local artwork hangs on the walls of each room, lobby and corridors of the hotel. Wood everywhere and soft colors make it quite cute and the atrium gardens are full of lush tropical plants.

    But I don't really get anything out of the hotel. I'm lying in bed and looking forward to going to sleep and tomorrow at 7 I‘ll drive to the national park.

    What a day!!!
    Read more