Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Madrid - last bit

    September 5, 2015 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    After the conference I went to the Prado museum, during the free two hours before it closes. There was a bit of a line...
    Luckily they let us in quickly, as fast as they could x-ray our bags and metal-detect us. It was like the airport! They are serious about their no-photos policy here too!

    Got to see lots of Picassos, a Rembrandt, and a replica Mona Lisa painted by one of Leonardo's students while the original was being painted. So I'll know what I should be able to see when I'm standing behind a huge crowd at the Louvre.

    Last night back in the hostel, then off at 9am though almost deserted streets (I guess being up all night means sleeping in) onto a train going up to 300km/h through the Spanish countryside (mostly very dry) to Barcelona!
    Read more