Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Barcelona - arrival

    September 5, 2015 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Arrived in Barcelona, and it already seems nice. Little fountains/parks are on many streets and there was a small pond right by the train station (#1). I particularly like that instead of just streets they have wide avenues with trees/grass, (separated) bike lanes, walking space, bus/taxi lanes, and car lanes (#2).
    My hostel here looks fine but not as nice as my last one (#3).
    Wandered around and came across Barcelona's Arc de Triomf (#4). Why even go to Paris now? :P
    Near the Arc there was a street performance/competition of some sort. Perhaps this was traditional Spanish dancing (#5)? I didn't know what the announcer was saying so who knows!
    Near the beach I came across what looks to me like a post-apocalyptic version of the Beehive (#6).
    Barcelona is a bit cooler than Madrid (whew) but it has a fairly persistent smell of sewerage in many places (eww).
    Read more