Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Rest day in Pamplona

    September 8, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 73 °F

    What can I say? Unbelievable, unexpected, and unforgettable. First, by chance, we met a local tour guide whose live online tours I followed during lockdown when I was recovering from spine surgery.

    Then we met King Felipe and Queen Letizia who were here to commemorate the 600th anniversary of the unification of the three boroughs that became Pamplona.

    We toured the beautiful cathedral and then saw the gigantes parading through town.

    Just so you don't think our lives are all sunshine and butterflies, we left a suitcase at the hotel in Pamplona so that we could either offload some stuff or add new things to our backpacks. I had made several packets of my hair products that I intended to remove from the suitcase and put in my backpack for the rest of our Camino. Well, after we took the suitcase to the post office to send ahead to Santiago, I remembered that I didn't pull the hair products out and I really need to wash my hair. And Pat left his razor in the suitcase so we'll both be looking frightful. Oh well, it was still a stellar day.
    Read more