Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    A wet night at Felix Unite campsite

    June 28, 2023 in Namibia ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    So much for the hope of a better night! It poured with rain non-stop, and the temperature plummeted! We were both awake from 2am as the seams of our new tent were leaking and all our bedding was soaked! The joys of camping in bad weather! After a sleepless few hours, we got up and started trying to dry stuff out. Everyone had similar stories when we got together for breakfast! Henry had made pancakes for us, with baked beans as an alternative. There was some confusion about who was in the washing up group this morning, so I stepped in to make sure everyone knew what they should be doing. I’ll probably get a reputation for being bossy, but I don’t care – it winds me up when people aren’t pulling their weight!

    After breakfast, there was an optional canoeing activity on the Orange River. The inclement weather put several people off! In the end, just eight people went. I took ‘team photos’ and photos of the cool bus they were going in! With fewer people in camp, we spread all our stuff out to dry and moved our tent into the sun when it appeared. We then went for a walk. This place would be amazing in better weather. The scenery across the river is spectacular, and the pool is in the perfect spot to take advantage of the views. I can’t wait to get to some warmer, drier weather so that we’re not constantly saying, ‘This would be lovely in the summer!’ 😂

    Following our walk, I bought a wi-fi voucher as our Solis doesn’t work in Namibia. As we get further off the beaten track, it will be harder to keep up with my posts, but I’ll do my best!
    Read more