Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Return to Swamp Stop

    July 11, 2023 in Botswana ⋅ 🌬 19 °C

    When we returned to the island, we transferred to the boats that had brought us from Swamp Stop for the return journey. It was a long ride, and I got increasingly cold as the trip went on! We did see a family of hippos, a pair of fish eagles, and a magnificent four-metre long crocodile, though, so there were compensations! We were frozen by the time we got back to camp. I just didn’t appreciate how cold Southern Africa could be in winter, and I clearly haven’t brought enough of the right clothes! Thankfully, the crew had again put our tents up, and Henry had prepared us a tasty hot lunch of savoury mince and rice.

    After thawing out, we had a free afternoon. My plan was to catch up with my trip diary and to do some posts. I managed the first, but not the second – too many fellow passengers wanted to chat! I do enjoy the social side of these trips, but not at the expense of updating everything – especially when we have decent internet for a change!

    Dinner tonight was kudu meat with potatoes, vegetables, and salad. We had a roaring fire to sit around after eating. Thankfully, it wasn’t as cold as it has been for the past couple of nights!
    Read more