Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Lunch in Chipata

    July 24, 2023 in Zambia ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Thankfully, I slept much better last night, and woke up at 5.30am feeling suitably refreshed! We had breakfast and were packed up and back on the road by 8am.

    We were heading for South Luangwa National Park, but stopped after three hours in the town of Chipata for an early lunch and a look around. Mark bought some beer for the next couple of days and we topped up our snack bag yet again! I spotted an optician across the road from the supermarket, so I went over to see if I could get my glasses fixed. It turned out that it was closed for refurbishment. There was just a pile of rubble and some old advertising posters! However, someone knew where the optician was and ran to get him. He found some tools amongst the mess, reattached the arm of my glasses, and charged me a measly 30 kwacha (about US$1.50!!). What service!!

    We then went to get some lunch. We ended up sharing a pizza. Then we bought some delicious fresh strawberries from a lady in the car park and got some ice cream from a local shop. We ate them on the truck. What a treat!!
    Read more