Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 108

    Tolú, Colombia

    March 13, 2017 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 7 °C

    My first stop on the Caribbean Cost of Colombia was Tolú. A small town that sits inside the Gulf of Morrosquillo. After a 10 hour bus ride I arrived to the coast in the early morning and while the bus was full when we left Medellín I was the only one actually got my to Tolú and this the only one left on the bus.

    The town itself is mostly Afro-Colombian, has a small airport, a couple plazas and along the coast a line of hotels and restaurants. While not a huge tourist attraction many Colombians come here during their vacations to soak up the sun or visit the near by San Bernardo islands.

    As it was low seasons. It many people were there and I had my hotel / camp ground all to myself. I pitched my tent there at the end of town and met the owner Carlos and his father Carlos. They both spoke English even though I preferred Spanish. In fact the Carlos Senior spoke French and German as well.

    I spent two days wandering the streets, enjoying the beach, and sitting on the plaza where a giant tree with tons of vines hanging down provided enough shade from the sun. There you could find old men playing cards, dominos, and drinking tinto. You could also see as a line of fathers on motorcycles lined up to pick up their daughters from the Catholic school attached to the church, and I'm the late afternoons the marines would come and protect the square. Two actually approached me as they thought I had taken a picture of them. That is apparently not allowed. They were both on. Their early twenties and we talked a bit about their time in the military, my travels and... Trump.

    From Tolú I moved on to a place that have yet to name as I will be releasing my experience there as a photo essay and will be keeping it secret until the .
    Read more