Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    We made it!

    April 4, 2017 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    At check in we were stoked to be given exit seats for both flights - I was hopeful thinking this would
    stop a lot of Will's winging but alas, he had a migraine the whole of the first flight :( The cabin crew were useless, it took them about 30 mins to locate panadol and then they wouldn't give him anymore even though it was a 15 hour flight so he was safe to have more -.-
    Dinner was yum but breakfast was terrible - it reminded me of that hilarious Virgin airplane food complain letter that went viral. It looked like melded goop.
    The man next to me was annoying and his English made me uncomfortable- he kept making comments that I could hardly understand and he had this air of arrogance.
    As I said the staff where useless! They literally chatted the whole way and I'm pretty sure went out of their way to avoid eye contact.
    The flights average age was about 9 I reckon. I've never had so many kids on one flight - all going to Lebanon and all extremely loud and annoying. They didn't help Wills headache or mood.
    I slept for a lot of the flight luckily. In between my little cry because I felt so helpless regarding Will.
    I always pee a thousand times more when I fly and feel so awkward walking to the toilet making eye contact with people "hi... me again"
    I watched some Big Bang episodes and that was about it for the first flight.
    We stayed an extra hour in the air before landing which stressed a lot of people out who had connecting flights - once we finally got off the plane we had 10 mins before our plane started boarding.
    Doha looks so sterile - everything is made of metals - not natural materials and there is maybe 4 plants in the whole country.
    So. Much. Sand.
    The airport had some cool but random statues - we didn't Really get to explore unfortunately because we were rushed to find our flight - we had to get a tram. We planned on buying Will panadol but apparently only one place in the whole airport sells it and naturally that was on the other side..

    We bought some croissants and waited for boarding.

    There was this completely traditional Jewish family with the shaved head and pig tale side dangly bits and big black hat. I love seeing people in such traditional wear.
    Got on the plane and this time it was only 5 hours thank heavens - I slept again and Wills headache returned but we made it!

    After going through customs we decided that finding food and water was our first priority- we found a little cafe in the airport that was pretty cheap considering its location. Eventually we trudged on and found the station. The train ride cost 10€ each and took 40 mins - turns out we didn't even need the ticket but better safe than sorry.
    On the train we enjoyed looking at the different terrain and flora. Very shrubby.
    There was this gypsy girl that kept waking up and down the train playing the accordion.
    The Greek alphabet stresses me out - because it's not bases off our Latin alphabet I can't even sound it out which makes me feel helpless but I'm sure I'll manage - luckily the English is normally written underneath.
    We found our stop and walked out into Syntagma square.
    Fuck me pigeons really do live everywhere!!
    Immediately there was a lot of beggars and stalls selling souvenirs, food, books and other nick nacks. The square was very crowded so I clung onto my bags very tightly. We followed the directions given to us for our Bnb and found it on top of a cute little falofel shop. Our host, Lilly, is sweet and thankfully speaks clear English!!!
    Our room is perfect and her house is awesome! It's from the 1860's and is like a maze. It has a beautiful terrace that I can't wait to check out later.
    Will is currently having a well earned rest as I write this.

    Just before, all hell broke loose - it was very Greek.
    I heard this dog start howling and loosing its marbles so naturally I had a sticky beak out the window - there was this ridiculous congregation of "band" members playing music so so loudly! The dogs owner was trying to calm it and screaming at the gypsies to fuck off like 10 odd times before they actually moved on. It really was a bizarre scenario to watch. I enjoyed myself. What made me most happy was seeing that the dogs owner actually cared for him. I have been pre warned not to expect that sort of compassion from most Greek people regarding animals.

    I am so tired.
    Once will wakes up I think we are going for a walk.

    Ok so went for a walk around town. There are so so many material shops. It's kind of silly. There's lots of shoe stores too.
    It's weird hearing Greek, it's not a language I hear often - i still don't know how to say hi. Super rude of me!
    I feel very blonde though.
    Will is surprised by how many Gypsy kids we have seen. I'm not; it's only been 3. They did have a clever ploy though. They were sitting along the street playing the accordion and would purposely put their money tin in the middle of the road for people to kick, freak out when money went flying everywhere and then when they bent over to pick it up - that's when the 'striking' is suppose to happen I think. The kids do look like rats though. Literally rats - very Peter Pettigrew.
    We found this pasta shop we decided to have dinner in - Will loved it, I didn't. There wasn't enough tomato in their bolognese which is probably why Will liked it.
    Turns out we are very unprepared - we were trying to figure out if we are suppose to tip.. we decided to just round up the total until we find out.
    There are so many mopeds.
    Back at the Bnb now. It's only 6.30 but I think it's nearly time for bed. Earlier I booked us in for a free walking tour for tomorrow which I'm pretty keen for :D

    YAYAYAY WE ARE ACTUALLY HERE :D
    Read more