Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Rome

    April 9, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Packed our bags, cleaned the room and made our way out one final time through the bnb's dodgy lift.
    We walked down the street the other direction this morning looking for breakfast. There was literally no shops until the wonderful Golden Arches appeared.
    Romes breakfast menu kicks butt. They had all sorts of sweets, pastries and other fancy goodies.
    While I admired it I ended up with a cheeseburger :D
    We went walking in search of some big fancy pants garden with the intention of final getting SIM cards for our phone.On the way we went near the Vatican and Hooley Dooley was it packed! We kept walking and had a few breaks on the way. There are so many sausage dogs in Rome. <3 I'm trying to convince Will to let me one day have one called sizzle. I think he may crack if I persist for a year.
    We have both decided we don't like their emergency vehicle sirens. The pitch is too high.

    We walked over lots of bridges, past the da Vinci museum, before we reached the park. It's really hot. I don't understand everyone - in both countries they have been dressed for hardcore winter weather and we have been trotting around it shorts and T-shirts. We were both thirsty so we got drinks and I got a strawberry gelato. It was super tasty.
    We walked around a bit and found a nice patch of grass for a snooze. While the grass was itchy because we didn't have a blanket it was nice knowing I wouldn't be attacked by 100 different types of insects.
    We kept making our way slowly up the hill as the sun moved. We are now sitting at the top and have noticed a couple apparently indifferent that it's a public space and are getting uncomfortably close. She has mounted him and oh dear.... some people have moved away hahah
    A lesbian couple have now seated themselves close and are going to town too. I would think it were some free for all sex park if we weren't surrounded by children.
    There is heaps of people who try to sell you things and they are already annoying me. NO I DONT WANT YOUR STUPID ROSE.
    They come right up into your face. GO AWAY.
    I became too cold in the shade so I stood up and made a daisy chain necklace in the sun :)
    We eventually left the park after 2 hours or so and strolled the street aimlessly. Our flight leaves at 9:30pm so we didn't have time to explore anywhere properly but had a lot of time to kill.
    We found a Vodafone shop but the prices were ridiculous. They didn't have a pre paid plan, only monthly deals. We will try again in Greece but worst comes to worst for the moment if we need to contact each other we will find free wifi zones and Facebook call each other and if not - just go home and meet each other there.
    The streets are so chaotic, there doesn't seem to be any sort of designated rules for cars or pedestrians. People walk where they want, don't look for cars and walk in zigzags.
    We ate pizza for lunch - the sinks had pedals you had to stand on to activate the water.
    We ended up in an Irish pub and spent a few hours there. Will had a few beers and I had a got chocolate with cream.
    We got a taxi to the airport - much cheaper this time round, only 30€.
    We hung around in the cafe, I made friendly chat with an Irish girl as I charged my phone. She was freaking out because her phone was on 2% and wasn't charging but had her boarding pass on it. Hope she made it into the plane. I wasn't hungry so I had a kinder surprise for dinner heheh :)
    We were seated apart again. I had a window seat - yay :) I was next to 2 American boys who I don't think were 21 because the were unnecessarily excited about buying 3 beers each. They did the smelliest burps for the remainder of the flight :/
    We got off and collected our big bags.
    We went to get s taxi it first we had to get cash out because no one takes card because they don't want to pay taxes..
    our taxi stunk of smoke. No one in Europe seems to have gotten the 'smoking is bad for you' memo.
    It was a 54€ flat rate to get us to our $40 hotel - this has been a stupidly expensive waste of time.
    We were just thankful to find somewhere to stay because we flew in at 1am... not many places were willing to wait up for us.
    Our hotel was good enough for what we paid. What I thought was weird was that reception not only handed us our room key but the Tv control and air conditioning remote which we had to return at checkout. I've never had to do that before.
    We bother crashes when we finally lay down.
    Read more