Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Sofia

    May 3, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    It's 1:30am and Will just asked me if I have ever had a grape...
    Correction, grapefruit.
    It's now 2am and he has discovered His pillow is a triangle.
    And he calls me the retard?

    We slept in until the beautiful hour of 12:30. I had my shower and then started the washing.
    I did 4 loads with the scrubba until we ran out of hanging space because I think I must have left the clothes Line in Skopje but we can always get another one or some rope.
    Shockingly, Will hasn't done any washing. I've told him he is to to all of it next time which he has agreed to.
    Sachin and Day care messaged us to say their postcards had arrived. Yay. Sachin put his on the fridge :) it's a picture of some Greek erotica hahahah. Apparently it has prompted some conversations with his housemates lol.
    I'm getting better at this washing business, I've still got to work on my wringing out skills though.
    It's 2 o'clock and we're both hungry so we chucked on some shorts and thongs and went to find some lunch. People stared at us but I'm getting use to it now. It's still nothing like the attention being white in Kenya brought me.
    We went to club 35. Gosh Europe have the best drink menus! It's such a stressful process. I can't decided I have over 40 cheap mocktail options!
    We both got cheese burgers and they were delicious!! But so messy we had food all over our faces. On the walk back we got drinks - we need to go to the supermarket later to get toilet paper. As if one roll of 0.5 paper was going to suffice.

    Will is downloading movies while I do my paper journal which I've been stapling tickets into and doing research.
    We've booked our accommodation for 2 more nights here so that I'll be able to Skype Mum and Dad on Saturday and hopefully we can do a proper tour of something cool. There is a monastery and mountains that look good.
    I need the computer not just my phone to look properly.
    We have decided instead of doing the night tour tonight we are having a movie day and will do the tour tomorrow morning which means we can spent more time in the city before dark.
    We watched "the late bloomer" which i quite liked actually.
    Had some funny bits and the "complication" that every movie has, wasn't too stressful for me hahaha
    I did 2 more loads of washing then we went out to get dinner. We decided on Indian. On our walk we came across a man losing his shit at a group of people - he had stopped his car in the middle of the street and had 15 odd cars behind him. They were so patient, he only got honked twice but was yelling for a good few minutes. He then drove away.
    The nightlife is quite strong here. There's lots of bars packed and nargile is big. Every club has it. Smells delicious as we walked past.
    They need better street lights it's so dark. And not a single street has a sign.
    Made it to Indian and my oh my the butter chicken was goooood. Still not as good as the stuff I had in London before/after seeing the mousetrap.
    Walked home and crawled into bed. Turbo wasn't showing up on our hard drive so we watched the count of monte cristo which was great!!
    It's way past bedtime and we have to be in the city by 11 which isn't that early only we need to figure out the bus system too!
    Read more