Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Work Away

    May 17, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ 🌬 19 °C

    5:20 came all too soon.
    We got up and we're the only ones to eat breakfast because we didn't think we would last until 8. We left by 6. Today was a late start because they weren't expecting lots of roses. It's bloody cold. We went to the field by the lake. We were all given a rose picking bag - To all the men's delight they were fluro pink :) we worked In pairs and picked row by row. So many of the roses had an insect in them - A lot of the time it was dead though. After we had picked we went to the white rose field. I like the pop sound it makes when you snap it. We went to a third field but didn't bother getting out of the car, there wasn't enough roses in bloom.
    We went back to the house and weighed in. For day one I collected .37 of a kilo. Will had a similar weight. He needs it to be known he had .39.
    Everyone else then ate breakfast while I slowly died in the corner.
    We then got ready to go to the same field as the last 2 days only today we were taking a tractor to help pull out stumps.
    They couldn't get the tractor to start and in that short time I had like 4 micro sleeps where my head fell into the door. I hate the sensation of falling.
    Will went on the back of the tractor with Danny so we could get away with only taking one car. It was squishy in the back though. Luckily for those Asian bottoms.
    Once we got there I have no idea what everyone else did. I stayed on the same side of the field as I have been working on and worked alone. I had an S club Party :)
    I actually did so much work. It's like I went into overtired SuperDrive.
    The Koreans brought with them a drone and filmed us working - hopefully I can get a copy of the video.
    Will eventually came to my side of the field because there was no available tool so he helped move the branches I had cut to the sides of the field, out of the way.
    We dance to Timomatic - Parachute. Great song :)
    We worked for about 3 hours then tried to leave only the tractor wouldn't work again..
    They connected it to the car to try and give it momentum to start which worked once so Danny and Will successfully made it to the road ( after 30 minutes of trying and everyone pushing the tractor..I took no part in this and sat in the car like a lazy shit. )
    We were halfway home when they called us to say that had stalled. We had to turn around.
    It was friggen ridiculous so eventually Will drove everyone home and towed the tractor with Danny and Johanna on it steering.
    Naturally the first policeman I have seen in a week was behind us. That kicked in the adrenaline.
    "Oh they will just check your license"
    "Yep... don't have one..."
    hahah
    Either way we made it home and all had to push the tractor out of the way.
    We did rip the chain though cause stupid Kazakhstan told Will to drive when he shouldn't have.
    It worked out fine because it was the last bit of the journey which was downhill so they just rolled home.
    The Korean dude - Johnny - is such a helpful man. He has had such great initiative to do helpful things. Very well trained :P
    We then had lunch. Soft drink everyday is terrible yet fantastic.
    I got an email and I'm so cranky about it.
    Travelpod - the site im currently using to write my journal will be closing down permanently on June 19th... -.-
    I'll have to transfer everything into a Microsoft document then maybe onto a Tumblr or a new blog system I'll have to find. So much unnecessary effort :/

    We had a 4 hour nap. It's now 7pm.

    Wills haircut makes him look like the last airbender.

    Someone had done a really bad job at aiming into the toilet..

    There is a cherry tree in the yard and it's delicious. They aren't as big as the ones I'm use to.
    The Korean couple showed us some videos from their 2.5 year travels. They were amazing! They got filmed by a Korean tv station too I think.
    They are cute.
    We had Rakia with dinner. I had 2 shots. Still gross but it gives this tickley warmth in your chest for 5 minutes lol.
    It was a hand made bottle given as a gift to Danny because he refused to take money for dragging a mans car to the next town when he had run out of gas.

    I listened to Harry Potter while Will watched a movie.
    7 hours til wake up time -.-
    Read more