Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Transit

    June 6, 2017 in Belgium ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    We left the house at 11:30 - we weren't sure how we were going to get to the station but we knew we first needed to go and get some money out.
    The ATM only gave us 100€ bills and the bank attached to it didn't have cash on premise??? So we couldn't exchange it to smaller amounts.
    We went to a convenient store to buy a water to get some change but the man said in the most French accent ever "oh, that in not possible" - I'm only adding this in because Will found it hilarious and has been imitating him all day.
    We looked out for a taxi but none came past so we just kept walking - we came to one bus station and it was going to central station so we decided to get on that and change over there to another train to get to Medi - Brussels south station.
    The bus stop said must have correct change though so we went to a "resturant" to eat.
    We got these big bread roll stuffed with chips, chicken, vegetables and garlic sauce. Was really yummy but neither of us could finish it.
    Back to the bus stop - we jumped on a bus - it was really awkward standing there with our big packs on our backs - I think I accidentally bumped into a few people several times when the buses started and stopped.
    We got to Central then went inside the train station - we asked the ticked officer how to get to Ghent and she said platform 4 in 4 minutes - we didn't need to transfer over woohoo!
    Because we are both under 26 we got a decent discount then rushed down to get the train - no major dilemmas so far - we got on the train with ease.
    The journey was about 30 minutes but where we sat wasn't ideal for looking out the window.
    We got off at one of the two options our hostel gave us, bought tram tickets, waited 10 minutes then caught that with no issues either.
    There was a really old lady who came on the tram - i practically saved her live - the tram started moving and she went to fall backwards but I grabbed her so she didn't and she just death stared me as if to say how dare I touch her.
    Stupid bat.
    We got off at where we were told to - our instructions were to walk 200m towards St Michaels - only problem was that we could see 6 odd different Cathedral type buildings and had no way to know which was which. After we tried 2 ways and was unsuccessful we found a McDonald's to use there free wifi then was able to find our hostel.
    We are in different dorm rooms which sucks but we will manage.
    I'm in a 10 person dorm he is in a 14.
    The lucky bastard got a bottom bunk though so he is the lucky one lol.
    We just chucked our bags in the rooms then went for a walk.
    Ghent really is beautiful. I'm sure I'll appreciate it more tomorrow when I'm not exhausted.
    But first impressions are its old, castle-y, and got the 'old school village made out of stone' vibe.
    Our hostel does a free walking tour which we are Goni get to do tomorrow.
    We had hot chocolate and waffles at a chocolate place which was super expensive but delicious!
    It cost 28€ hehe oops.
    I'm now in my room and Will is doing a beer tasting experience through the hostel. It's only 6:30 but I'm off to bed I'm so tired.
    This was probably one of my worst diary entries yet. Just to tired to function right now lol.
    I might fix it up tomorrow if my memories stay with me - they tend to get forgotten with the new days events - we will see.
    YAY BED
    On our walk around I threatened to put Will in the bin so he lifted me up and put me on a bunch of bins instead -.-
    Read more