Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 67

    Transit

    June 9, 2017 in Belgium ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Woke up on time - Will didn't and made a false claim about agreeing to meet a half hour later. BS.
    If I pulled that stunt he would drag me out by the ear lol
    we packed and checked out but they held our bags for us while we did a few things before heading off.
    We tried to get into St. michels but it was closed. No biggy.
    We went to the Belfast tower. I had to prove I was under 26 because she didn't believe us 👵🏼👵🏼👵🏼👵🏼
    Our savings was over 10€
    We went up a gazillion stairs until we found the elevator option 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼
    We went to the top to look at the view - I think the castle view was better. The floor had a bit of flooding which made it difficult for Will.
    We went down to the exhibits in the lower levels.
    One was of the of the original dragons on the top of the tower. They use to light its mouth to scare enemies from coming. The logic is sound - no one would want to attack a city with a dragon hahah
    The next level had lots of bells and a long video about how to make one - the process is significant longer than I thought it would be. Was surprisingly interesting to learn about.
    Next level had the big Roland clock. I think the original - the city loved he bell.
    We had a quick breakfast afterwards then went to see if we could see the lamb painting without having to repay.
    They let us in for free. 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼
    It truly is a sensational piece of art.
    I took a sneaky photo because of its significance.
    There is an awesome drinking fountain in the city. It's not for people but for horses, dogs and birds. They each have their own drinking level.
    We then went back to the hostel and collected our bags
    - off to Bruges we go!
    It was the most successful journey we have had thus far.
    We had no wait time for tram and following train. We chatted to a lovely English couple the whole way there.
    Got off and onto a bus - the bus driver told us where to get off and we walked to our hostel - easy peasy :D
    The queue for check in was stupid we we sat down for a bit before eventually we checked in, got our key and went to our room in the building next door.
    We have assigned beds this time.
    I've got a top and Will has a bottom but they are the best looking beds we have had yet. They have a curtain for privacy which is great and storage big enough for our big bags not just our backpacks.
    Our dorm is practically empty at the moment.
    We took all our dirty clothes to a laundromat- the wash cycle was 40 mins so we went for a walk - I had some yummy tomato soup and Will had a croissant. Went back to use the drier then took them back to the hostel where we both had a snooze.
    We are up now and on a dinner date in what we think is the town center - for first impressions I'm a little underwhelmed. It is lovely but every single bloody person we have met has been like YOU MUST GO TO BRUGGE. I was expecting the most amazing city. So far I think Ghent is far prettier.
    I don't understand the fuss, maybe tomorrow I will.
    We had burgers - they were so small but juicy as all crap, so gooooood.
    Will suggested I might like an ice cream on the way home - who am I to say no hahah.
    We saw such beautiful swans on the canal on the walk home.
    Just hung out in my little capsule bunk. It's so spacious I love it.
    Bed time :D
    We have no real plans for tomorrow - maybe we will hire bikes? The locals I think were almost born on them - their multitasking skills when riding, while dangerous, is very impressive.
    Read more