Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    Transit

    July 2, 2017 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    7am starts are ew.

    We said bye to the man host at 7:40 and walked down to the bus stop.
    It was a little awkward cause we were going to leave the keys on the table but accidentally woke him up - he was sitting in his chair with his shirt unbuttoned, massive gut hanging out and little short shorts on haha
    The bus stop is just outside..
    We at first were like phew! We have come at the perfect time - because it's Sunday there is only one bus every hour and it comes in 2 minutes.
    We waited
    And waited
    And waited
    But It didn't come.
    Panic set in.
    If we didn't get to the station on time we were totally screwed because we would miss the ferry and everything else that came after -.-
    Fk.
    Will wanted to walk to the shops and catch a different bus but I had other plans.
    We walked back to the house and I rang the doorbell, explained the situation and the lovely human that he was - he drove us 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼
    I just didn't want to risk walking to the shops to find out that bus only comes once and hour too because then what??
    I had privately guessed he would offer to drive us. I felt bad even asking but I was pretty stressed and desperate.
    Nothing was open at the station - including the ticket people...
    we had a go at the automatic machine.
    Bloody hell our ticket broke the bank.
    1000krone =$200 TO NOT EVEN GET A SEAT
    We have been told Denmark only has the one train company and no competition so they can charge whatever they want -.-
    We got breakfast then went and waited on our platform. The train came early so we got on - as everything around us was deserted we decided to sit in some of the seats and wait and see if we got kicked out.
    But no one came so we got to stay woohoo!!
    I had a little snooze. Will is listening to YouTube talks - its his new thing. I think the current one is about the Big Bang.
    Last night we watched one of top 10 countries likely to cause WW3.
    It's about 20 minutes before we have to get off and change trains.
    Another ticket person came and asked in a confused could if we were a group of 4. We said no and asked why....

    WE BOUGHT 4 TICKETS 😡😡😡
    Each ticket covered 2 people.
    I'm so angry about it because if the stupid ticket people had been there we would have gone to them and not wasted $100

    Genuinely upset and annoyed.

    We changed trains without any issues - it was a very small station so our train was the only option.

    It was like a bus train - it had many scheduled stops but only actually stopped if you pressed the buzzer in the train.
    Everyone was going the same place we were so it was easy to find.
    We went and checked in again without any issues which was a relief because my email was in Danish so i had no clue lol.
    We sat upstairs for a bit because we were an hour early.

    We didn't end up having the magic truffles in Amsterdam and I had completely forgotten that I still had them until a sniffer dog walked by 😐😐😐😐😐 shit shit shit shit lol

    I went to the toilet and put them in the sanitary bin HAHa my bad.
    #schapelle
    Mum don't stress, it's fine ✌🏼✌🏼✌🏼✌🏼✌🏼

    We made it on board. The boat is HUGE. It's more of a cruise ship than a ferry. It's got shops everywhere, money exchange, restaurants etc
    It's 8 levels and transports cars too.
    We found seats.
    It is wayyyyyyy more rocky than I expected such a big boat to be.
    Good luck Will - lucky he took a motion sickness pill before we got on.
    I went up to exchange money - there 200 note had a big fish on it which I found amusing. Must be an important type of fish. Maybe a Viking related fish 🤔
    Lol
    As I was changing money I didn't know if It was the boat or if I was about to faint. It was such a bizarre feeling.
    I went and sat down and after a while decided it was the boat.
    Apparently sea legs don't happen automatically.
    I'm more use to it now.
    Wifi costs on the boat which is a bit of bummer.

    To try and promote Will not vomiting I went and got us food.
    It was difficult balancing.
    He has eaten now and is trying to sleep - he doesn't look very comfortable so I doubt he will be successful but he has 3 more hours to try.

    I ended up having a snooze myself. Lol
    The boat got less bumpy by the end. I watched the waves out of the toilet window. ✌🏼
    We got off the boat and I couldn't believe it - A CUSTOMS PERSON DOING THEIR JOB. 😍
    We had to show her our passports AND she even made a full enquiry about when we entered the schengen zone and checked our stamps. Good for her. She deserved a sticker.

    I don't know if I have previously mentioned this but I made a Facebook status when we went from Belgium to the Netherlands without anyone checking our tickets or passport saying like good job Europe in a sarcastic tone and literally every European person i know commented saying like derrrrr it's a free travel agreement.
    Tony Lloyd commented too in what I interpreted as a condescending tone so I double checked

    As it happened once you're in the EU you're in and dont need to show documentation even though I'm not an EU member which is frankly ridiculous..
    BUT I am also suppose to be checked so I don't overstay my welcome.
    Denmark and Norway thus far are the only people taking security seriously.

    You shouldn't trust your neighbours to do their jobs - I could be anybody.
    EU people should have to flash their EU cards which is what I assumed was meant to happen..
    those tightened border security measures are really working out ..

    The dock was a 3km walk from Larvik station 😒
    Luckily there was a big group walking that way so we followed them cause my maps weren't properly loading. But being prepared for such events I print screened the route lasts night just in case - it's just easier when the live movement dot thing moved with you.
    Made it. The walk was quite boring really. It's quite an industrial area.
    My heart sank.. on the board next to every train for the rest of the day to Oslo - it said cancelled.
    Gah.
    I asked the kiosk guy and he didn't understand the word cancelled
    So we got on the train currently waiting for people to board. I think we got lucky because it is going to Oslo 🙌🏼
    Our tickets were again expensive. Another $100 gone 😩😩😩
    The scenery is pretty. The quality of houses is higher so far.

    Our train was 2 hours which is longer than I had told Will it was going to be so he had the grumps.
    To be fair I did think it was going to be an 1.5 hours. It's what google said lol.
    Some of the stations we went through were surrounded by wonderful areas.
    I feel like they look like the type neighborhoods you would live in if you were part of a yacht club.

    The man across from us had such smelly armpits. 😷Shock horror he was Indian.

    Our train was running about 7 minutes late which doesn't hold up to the European standard we have come to expect. Tut tut.
    We arrived in Oslo finally - everyone had to get off due to track work.
    🇳🇴🇳🇴🇳🇴🇳🇴🇳🇴🇳🇴 YAYAYAY

    And so began our next and final leg of the journey.
    I loaded the map through the hostel website and not through google so we went on a slight detour but no harm done.
    Well maybe a little, Will was whinge bag. So much so he actually apologized later for it 😵😱😮
    Unheard of.
    His exact words were " sorry for being such a poo head" ❤️❤️ Nawh.

    The city was pretty dead but I suppose it is a Sunday night...
    walk walk walk.

    Found it. Or at least thought we found it.
    We found it's sister hotel. We figured that out when our name wasn't registered - 50m down the road... FOUND IT 🎈🎈🎈

    I think I spend more time documenting our 'getting lost' adventures than actual tourist stuff.
    Being lost just takes up so much of our time 😂

    This hostel is super shitty. It screams houso's but it's just for one night.
    We have been assigned beds but cant find the letters so we have just picked 2.
    We did a tag team poo then went to TGIFridays for dinner or as they call it TGIPridays - rainbow flags everywhere.
    Oslo isn't as clean as we expected. I dunno, I expected more. It's dirty and there are a lot of homeless.
    The food wasn't great. Our chicken wings were cold.
    Our food cost $100. Booooo.
    WE HAVE SPENT $500 TODAY 😭😭😭😭😭
    Transport, checking in and food 🔪🔪
    Our room is full of retards.
    Will is so bad with people who aren't strong with English.
    It's like he has to make it known he is Australian and pulls out the most bogan, complicated sentences he can think of.

    This place is a Hole.

    Randi's tomorrow :) she should get home around 4 - we will have to amuse ourselves until then.
    Read more