Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 134

    London

    15 agosto 2017, Inghilterra ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    How did I sleep?
    I did not.
    No a single minute.

    We left the hostel at 8 and walked to Lords.
    I grabbed a banana at the street shop to hold me over til after.

    We waited for it to start in the museum section.
    So obviously there was a lot of great stuff in there but to be perfectly honest I only really know Australian players of which Donald Bradman, Richie Benaud, Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and Glen McGrath had stuff there.
    The group was split in to two groups. We opted for the 9am tour because it meant we would be able to visit the pavilion before the game.
    We walked into the long room which apparently is designed like that so they had enough wall space to display the many beautiful artworks.
    We weren't allowed to take pictures in there though.
    We sat outside in the members seats while our guide crapped on. Like really crapped on. He was too detailed... half of our group was American and came to learn about cricket and he was throwing all these names at them and irrelevant crap if you don't have the basics covered. This man was so weird. He looked like Peter Pedigrew but had the mannerisms of Gilderoy Lockhart in the defense against the dark arts lesson after he makes the banchee joke that no one laughs at. Like, he kept making jokes that were blatantly not funny and I wouldn't have know they were jokes if he hadn't done his little smile jig.

    We then went to the tennis courts except they weren't what I think the normal ones are. Some dude was having a lesson. It's the original game of tennis created by bored monks. It kinda looked like a squash court.

    Next we saw the ashes urns in the museum where he completely over told the story - I was bored so I can't image how the American family who had 5 kids must have felt.
    This man just couldn't tell stories.

    We then walked round and sat in the stadium where we could take photos of the pavilion. Very recognizable. The players of the match were taking group photos on the field.
    We then went up to the spaceship looking building which is where the commentators sit and look over the stadium.

    He said it was as 81 step climb up. It wasn't it was 82 and I double checked on the way down..

    The view was awesome. I'd love to watch the ashes from there.

    The tour then ended at the gift shop. We found a hilarious magnet that has the rules of cricket explained for foreigners - Will actually let me buy it/suggested we buy it because it was just so good. It makes sense to us, just... But to a new person they would be so very confused.

    We went and sat in the stadium and watched a bit of the game. It was Scotland verse MCCG? Some form of letters.. 🤔🤔🤔🤔

    We left when the score was 1/110.

    I feel super happy about having seen a cricket game at lords 😎😎😎

    We went and got food then walked home.
    I had a 4 hour, much needed nap.

    We got up and went walking in Hyde park which is right next to us. It was lovely. So much wildlife!
    We found Diana's memorial garden which was very nice and then Kensington Palace. We just walked around it.
    We walked down a lovely street where a lot of embassies Then went to a sit down Pizza Hut resturant we spotted earlier which Will was so damn excited about because it reminds him of his childhood.
    It wasn't a pizza buffet but there was a salad and drinks bar.
    They didn't charge us for our drinks but we didn't feel the need to tell them .. lol

    We are now home, showered and in our beds. Only 2 more nights and we will have our own space 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼

    I feel like I probably forgot to mention this - when we were in the salt mines there was a stream that we could taste. Surprise surprise the water was soooooo salty haha.

    We still need to go to the consulate but are waiting for Bronwyn to send through new flight details because I think it's pointless going if we don't have proof about what are plans are.

    I also still need to look at the Iceland trip stuff dad sent me. I'll do that after the consulate visit just in case. I'm sure the Schengen aspect will be fine though - if we get denied reentry then maybe they could push their trip back a month then we will fly home with them if we have to.
    Options to think about.

    Stupid woman.

    We are taking up all the (very limited) free space in our room with our bags. It makes me feel awkward but our bags don't fit the lockers.
    Reminds me I have to buy a new lock 🔐😒

    We don't know if we are being bitten by bed bugs or mosquitoes but my elbows and hands are so itchy.
    Leggi altro