Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 198

    Istanbul

    October 18, 2017 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Despite my suggestion that his hair was fine and he is wasting my money.. Will decided he MUST have his hair cut. There was one close by - blah blah blah he got his hair cut but while I was waiting I had the best morning.
    Along came a dopey cat 😍😍😍😍 it was so bowed leg it looked like it was straddling a horse but I made one click with my tounge and over it came. It then jumped up onto the bench and plonked itself into my lap. He was so friendly 😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😍😍😍😍😍😭😭 I want him.
    He cuddled for 20 minutes. He just wanted to be close.

    Unfortunately Will finished his haircut so we had to leave kitty 😭😭😭😓😓

    We then walked to the Grand Bazaar 1.5km away. You have to walk through a metal detector gate thing to get in.
    I was surprised - it was all enclosed but street after street after street of everything. Lucky my map was preloaded or we wouldn't have made it out alive. Lol
    We didn't buy anything despite everyone's efforts. They at least take no for an answer.

    We got a big glass of freshly squeezed lemonade from a street stand for 70c each #winning then went off to find food. Tom Carnell had sent through instructions that we had to try a wet burger so we went looking. Eventually we found them and they were actually pretty good. I had 2, Will had 4. They were about the size of a McDonalds cheese burger and were just a bun covered in red sauce then 1 patty - and maybe a pickle? The picture had a pickle but I don't think my burger did?
    We then just sat on a bench next to the blue mosque looking at The Hagia Sofia* which is a pretty cool monument - a church turned mosque turned museum. It actually rates as number 1 on TripAdvisor above the blue mosque. We decided not to visit though because of the cost.

    We then went back to the hostel for a poo date.

    We then popped out to buy me a magnet, toothbrushes and we bought Bill some Turkish delight. I was gonna buy some for mum and dad too but something in the back of my mind tells me they don't like it.
    Apologies If I'm wrong.

    I was gonna buy mum shortbread when in Scotland cause I know she loved it but she isn't suppose to have it...😶 impossible person to buy for..

    We booked our shuttle bus to the airport tomorrow 13€ each which is pretty reasonable considering it's so far away - actually on a different continent 😂

    We relaxed in the foyer for a while then headed out to have some Turkish tea.
    Yum yum yum.

    As we were sitting there I amused myself by watching a street cat climb a house and take a shit in someone's flower pot hahahaha

    We saw this pot on fire the other day so we went to the same resturant to get the same thing.

    It's called some fancy name but it's a clay pot kebab.

    It was delicious! Yum yum gobble gobble gobble.
    I fed a cat so trying at my feet. I always feel good when I do.

    We also got some hookah and I finally tried baklava which I didn't like - it was way too dry!

    Turkish cuisine ✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️

    Weirdo worker kept coming and smoking our hooker though. Grossly unprofessional lol.

    We then went home and I caught up on the bachelorette on my phone. 👍🏼

    Forgot to mention like 2 nights ago a girl in our dorm had the most vocal sex dream and it was soooooooo uncomfortable for everyone!!!! So loud 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 I was dying inside for her. I hope no one tells her I would be beyond mortified. She gains nothing by knowing 😂
    Read more