Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 255

    Berlin

    December 14, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 3 °C

    Firstly, HAPPY BIRTHDAY MUM.

    Secondly, We hearded back to checkpoint Charlie in the morning to have a look around a bit more thoroughly.

    There is annoying tag in my shirt that was driving me up the wall that I will have to chop off later.

    It is so freaking hard to itch when you are wearing winter clothes.

    We walked through the book burning square to reach it.
    We ate on the American side before going and reading some info that was in some walls.
    There are guards in the middle.

    The info was almost too much. I found the photos more interesting. I did like the info on individual people and there experience with the wall - i.e. If they escaped or got shot trying.

    There was another wall section in that little area so I got a photo with it :)

    We then walked over to the bigger section of the wall, walked along it and then went to the topography of terror museum. The Secret service SS Police force headquarters. Free entry woot.

    I suddenly felt as if I had pulled a muscle In my side and it really hurt to stand. It was very strange. I had to have several breaks when walking up and down reading the info.
    It basically had tonnes of photos and explanations of each. It showed photos of the high ranking nazis, victims, propaganda etc.
    the photos were really interesting - I only read the writing for the photos that really caught my eye because there was just too much.

    Will got bored quickly because mr smarty pants already knew everything.
    Despite his insistence I am sure if he actually bothers to read he would have learnt SOMETHING lol

    We went back through the block memorial and over to parliament. Apparently we need an appointment to visit the dome which I did about 10 mins ago and we will see if we are accepted. Not fussed if denied because it would be at 8am... lol

    It's a lovely building though.
    We also walked through a park on the way. Very dead looking lol.

    We got hot chocolates which really helped warm us an then we walked home.

    I had a shower and then I fell asleep 😂😂😂
    I write this everyday hahaha

    We went out to dinner and a proper german beer house. The atmosphere was incredible!
    It was love music with the waiters in traditional dress and yum German food. Will got 2L of beer 😂😂😂

    When the band played a well known song and locals joined in that was awesome.

    I had meatballs and Will had sausages. We also got a pretzel 👌🏻

    They replied - we got denied. They are full.
    Poop.
    Read more