Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 301

    Barcelona

    January 29, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Headed to the big church 'La Sagrada familia' which is the biggest, unfinished Catholic Church in the world. It is monstrous. They need to trim the trees though because there was nowhere to stand that gave you a clear view of the whole thing which was disappointing.
    Only God knows how much longer it will take and if it will even be in my lifetime but when complete it will be phenomenal. It was also designed by Gaudi.
    He is big into the mosaics and the top had started being colored.
    We didn't pay to go in. We will bother when it's done haha

    We had maccas for lunch to try save money then headed for a long walk to park Guell which I was really keen to see because it's where I use to skate when I played the Tony Hawk game on PlayStation 😂

    It was a 3km walk and all uphill. I actually think it was longer. We both agree the measurements my phone has been giving in Spain seem way off.

    Anyway, we were so friggen hot. I only have my snow jacket and it was 18° today. Outrageous!
    Sweating like pigs.
    We finally got there and I was really disappointed in the whole thing.
    Firstly you have to pay which I didn't realize but we did because I really wanted to see (16€ combined)
    We then had to wait for our time slot which luckily was only 15mins.
    When we got in it was so crowded! You couldn't get any clear photos and it was very pushy shovey and half the damn thing was being renovated.😤
    The mosaic tile stuff was really cool I just thought there would be more.
    I saw what I wanted to see but turns out we needn't have paid. You could see it from the front.
    Alas.
    The heat definitely added to our shittiness.
    It was located in more suburban barcelona.
    So many Catalonia flags everywhereeeeee.

    Got myself my Spain magnet :)
    And we walked home - much better because it was downhill. Lol

    We got reception to book us a table at a spanish resturant. These people have weird eating hours.
    They don't open until 7:30 and it's not normal to eat then anyway.
    Our hostel serves dinner between 8:30-9:30 which I think is really late.
    So anyways we had to wait until 8:30 to go to the resturant.
    Is was really expensive but we have said to ourselves in Porto we aren't gonna leave the house hahah

    It was 35€ each and it was 3 tapas, a main, a dessert and 1 liter on sangria + complimentary tomato bread and champagne.
    Excellent value and food.
    The tapas is really why we paid and they were sensational!! 🤤🤤

    Worth every penny.

    We back home now and I'm keen for a snooze cause i didn't have my daily nap hhhaha
    Read more