Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Namche Baazar

    September 9, 2019 in Nepal ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Breakfast was at 8 - I had porridge with honey. Need energy meals when trekking. Lotssss of honey to make it edible lol.
    Off we went.
    Anita was having tummy problems and shortly into the trip started vomiting. She went back down to rest.
    We walked past some bells to spin. I have real trouble spinning them if they are already spinning. I just hit the air lol.
    It was not a big walk today, walked up hill for a while but then in flattened out - we walked to the Tenzing Norgay memorial.
    There was also a little factual museum type thing there we had a peek at and also views of the tipity top of Everest.
    Inside the museum thing it had info about Sherpas which is a type of nationality. You are born into it.
    Not all porters are sherpas. But here most are.

    We found a dog lounging in the sun who then followed us all day.
    I also spotted a cool butterfly I watched for a while.
    Anita rejoined us. She was feeling better. Even though I find her to be so stupid and loud I’m glad. I’d hate for anyone to be sent home.

    I love the colour combos on a lot of their stuff. It’s like strong rainbow colours.
    We walked back down and went to the Sherpa museum.
    We went into and old, traditional Sherpa house - the same dog made himself at home on the seats hahah
    It was quite cozy inside and randomly large. It had all the pots and utensils and quick explanation of purpose on display but it also even had separate rooms/sections and a downstairs.
    Every morning they collect water say from
    The river - they have to fill 7 small bowls with the water as offerings to the Gods before they are allowed to drink.

    We then went into 2 separate rooms filled with photos or news articles.
    We then went to different room and watched a 110 slide slideshow about the area.

    Went to a drop toilet someone is sick and has white poo and it’s fresh cause it was on top 🤢🤢🤢

    The view of Namche from above is so cool.

    Got back and had lunch
    Had garlic so I still have heartburn

    Went to the oldest bar thing in Namche and watched a video about the first dudes who jumped/parachuted off Everest. Originally only went for WiFi but it didn’t work which was lame.

    Bought WiFi at the tea house we staying at and it worked woo!
    We had a nap.

    Will was tired/headache so I went alone with everyone to visit Kancha Sherpa. The last surviving member of the 1953 successful summit of Everest. He so cute.

    I was annoyed at our Sherpa who was translating because everyone was asking such wonderful questions but 90% remain unanswered.
    We’d ask Kancha Sherpa things like how did you feel - which is a question only he could answer but our Sherpa translator would answer without even asking him?
    Helen was also like can you please tell him why an honor to meet him.
    “Yes”
    Then says nothing. 🤦🏼‍♀️
    Just shit like that I was getting pissed off.
    Regardless I am so pleased to have met him. He contributed to history.
    I held his hand for a photo hehe.
    Loved it

    Will didn’t come, he was in bed still. Snooze you loose.

    We had dinner then bed.

    Lucy has this incredible super power to turn any conversation into abuse against woman. Just fucking shut up. I don’t necessarily disagree with her but fuck me IT IS EVERY CONVERSATION.
    Constantly rolling my eyes.
    You are in a group. Keep the peace. Bloody hell.
    Read more