Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Namche Baazar

    September 8, 2019 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    At breakfast hall by 7.
    Out by 8.
    Had rice pudding - very satisfied cause at least today I’ll have something in my tummy. Yesterdays breakfast was grossly dissatisfying.

    Off we went.
    To summarize:
    Today was all uphill and killed my soul😂

    My phone was o my on 9% to begin with and as I usually use my photos as a memory prompt I hope i don’t forget things.

    Stairs, stairs, several bridge and a relentless fucking hill.

    Got a few sensational photos. The one of me standing by a sign has Everest’s tip in the background even though my phone is a piece of shit and blended it into cloud it was our first glimps and I promise it’s there lol.

    Walking in the shade is my jam. Sun destroys me and my steps become half size.

    We watched mules cross over the bridge which was pretty cool.
    It really does all blend in.

    You also spend 85% of the time looking at the ground, not up because you don’t want to trip.
    Considering it is a challenging walk I actually am bloody proud of my leg strength and perseverance. I struggled at the end, I couldn’t keep up with the others - I’m fine at my own pace so that’s exactly what I did. Took my time and kept my heart rate low. And I made it.
    Thankyou diamox. 😘😘😘

    Drank all my 3L on the walk.

    Beyond fucking thrilled to reach Namche Baazar. (11,155ft)
    City/town is awesome!! It’s on the side of a monuntain.

    We saw some wild mountain goats as we came in and girls going the washing in a fountain thing.

    We had lunch and I’ve just woken from a 2hr nap.

    Went for a 10 minute walk and a) found a cat and b) a memorial for the first female Sherpa to climb Everest. She died in 2007 - she fell 8000m which is truly horrifying. She was only 37. I love that there is a monument to her. Being a female Sherpa is presumable a big ass deal. We haven’t seen one yet.

    Had dinner then bed.
    I have some heartburn but I think that’s cause there was garlic in my tomato soup.
    Read more