Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6

    March 7, 2020 in Cambodia ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    A great sleep 🙃
    Met in the breakfast room. Gonna miss the mango. Saaaa guuuuuud.
    I think all passion fruit is giving me super water poos hahah
    We went up and sat by the pool for a while. Em messaged saying her deda died overnight so I was talking to her - the boys went swimming.
    We went to lunch at a burger place. Joey is such a nervous nelly. Every guideline is a law and if disobeyed a jailsble offense. Chilaxxxx.
    I got a kids meal because I couldn’t help but noticed he icecreamery next door 🤗
    Two scoops of heaven.

    I don’t know if I had a nap now or not or if we were only at the hotel for a short while... either way we went off the the royal palace. Went with our favorite tuk tuk driver dude.
    The palace was $10 each. I think this is the only place that can justify that price based on that there’s many things within the walls.
    First their was the palace I remembered. We could look inside but couldn’t take photos. It looked kind of like a hallway with a throne at the end. My highlight was, as it often is, the ceiling. The paintings are always breathtaking.
    There were lots of mini buildings with the same palace roof tiling vibes. Couldn’t go in them though. We walked through the complex past beautiful wall paintings, a mini Ankor Wat, and intricate gray stupas I think you’d call them. I love the carvings. We found 2 cats. All the cats here have fucked up half missing tails. It’s very odd. Almost to the point is it genetic? You can’t ALL have been abused?
    We went up this garden spiral thing to find a Buddha shrine. Joey is loving this place. He has become just a mellow, guy. Love a good meditation.
    We then found the place of the emerald Buddha. Couldn’t take pics but it was cool. Not super large but still cool.
    We went out and I found a cat friend and this was essentially the highlight of my day....
    I was just chatting to the cat and it walked inside a side museum thing and jumped onto an artifact an just began angrily meowing at me.
    Get off
    MEOW
    that’s a 1000 years old, we gonna get it trouble
    MEOW
    Get off
    MEOW

    Hilarious.
    Sitting next to big bold lettered DO NOT TOUCH signs 😂😂😂😂
    There was also a section that had lots of past Kings thrones - carry seats.

    We finished and went looking for our driver cause he agreed to wait for us. Couldn’t find him so we assumed he must have gone to get a drink so we just sat around and waited. The sun was piercing today.
    He eventually turned up and he drove us to a temple - Wat Phnom.
    Joey paid for our entry cause he was the one that desperately wanted to come. Entry was only $1 but the gesture was appreciated.
    I liked inside. The main highlight for me with this tells was watching people put makeup on a Buddha statue. I asked a guy nearby if he spoke English because I wanted to know why but he said he didn’t. After several google searches I still do not know why.
    But yeah, I watched 2 different people apply eyeliner, lipstick, powder, perfume, pretend to brush its hair, put a phone up to its ear and put a watch on its wrist etc.
    Very interesting.

    We drove back to the hotel and I think I had a another sleep.

    We went out to dinner at a place we know did interesting food.
    Stephen came too.
    For entree we got served tarantula, mini frogs and crickets.
    Everyone was very adventurous.
    Tom and Joey at a while spider. Me and Will ate a leg.
    Tom, Will and Joey ate the crickets and frogs.
    I ate a whole cricket and that was enough for me.
    Look it didn’t taste that bad. I wasn’t immediately repulsed by the flavor but when I though about it bing a cricket I started to gag.
    But I did it. Hurrah.
    The rest of the food was average but I’d rate the place high for novelty alone.
    Back to the hotel and our lazy asses have decided to pack tomorrow instead.

    Tom had 2 major dilemmas today.
    1. He lost his stupid Gucci man bag which had his wallet in it. I am the hero of this story and found it under his suitcase after he had already checked everywhere and was mid heart attack.
    2. The other dilemma was his safe failed and locked him out but it had his and Wills passport in it :)
    That all got sorted - lucky!

    8.3.20.
    Just the usual checkout business and Tuk tuk to the airport.
    Sabdys dad got involved with our check in cause the bobbins were on our flight too.
    The corruption is disgusting.
    We got fast tracked through check in then he took our passports and disappeared somewhere. Came back and our passports had been stamped and we were right to go. Didn’t check our photos...
    We also didn’t need to remove our shoes like every other person in the airport had to.
    I’m not into it.
    So corrupt.

    Bought my magnet and flew home. 💕
    Read more