Satellite
Show on map
  • Daintree rainforest

    September 23, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Early start. 7:30 pickup.
    Sam our guide who forgot to pick up everyone so we had to go back to get them. 🙄
    First stop was Mossman gorge where we did a welcome to country smoke ceremony and the guy went through some of the berries, plants and paints. I like the use of the earth. Social politics always exhausting to engage with as it’s always evolving but the culture itself, I love.
    We then walked through the greenery and had the chance to go for a swim which I don’t think anyone did.
    It was nice but we weren’t there for long or rather what we could explore didn’t go for long. It’s goes on for another 4hr track at the point where we were told to stop and turn around.
    We then went on a Daintree river crocodile cruise. We saw 3 crocs. We saw a BIG BOI, he was approx mid 70’s. Old man croc. His name was Scarface cause he is the alpha and covered in war wounds Didn’t get the best look at him. The other 2 were eh. Not nearly as intimidating though obviously could still rip me in half in one bite.
    This was my fav activity of the day.
    Saw a python in a tree and some native birds too.
    We met our driver at different side of river than where we started.
    We then drove for ages looking for cassowaries but didn’t see any and stopped at lunch. (Could have driven past 10 we wouldn’t know we ZOOMED Past.)
    Nothing special for the effort to get there lol. Suspicious meat in my cheeseburger 👀 hahah
    On the way back we stopped at a beach. Pretty.
    Then stopped at Madja where we went in a quick walk through the Daintree but turned around after not that long.
    A few people tried eating ants. I wanted too but can’t eat something alive. Just can’t do it. Apparently they taste like lemon.

    We stopped for gelato at Daintree gelato shop where we tried the mango. Very smooth.

    Then went to alexandrias lookout point. Lovely.

    On the way home we went across on the car ferry across the Daintree river.
    So tired looking out the window we are both crashing.
    Currently stuck in traffic because there has been an accident.

    Went past the accident and it is bad.
    I hope I am wrong but I don’t think there will be a survivor.
    Took an hour to get past the crash but I will always rather be late than in the accident.

    I didn’t like his driving of the bus once the sun set. Very fast trying to catch up lost time.
    It’s ok. Don’t rush and take us over the side of cliff please :) :) :)

    Home now and I had to lie down for a bit cause I felt ill.
    I did maybe 2000 steps today. My Fitbit was sotting at 17,000 because of how bumpy the journey was.
    We had Chinese for dinner next door.

    Our hotel comes with a cat. Automatic 5 stars.
    Read more