Satellite
Show on map
  • Transit

    October 13, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Unbelievably the day has finally arrived.
    Our usual taxi driver Mr T. Dowse was unavailable so we got an Uber. Very efficient dude unlike the Pickering/Craig’s whose taxi driver was 45 minutes late. We were sitting in the business lounge just imagining the mood and Helen’s stress.
    When we got to the airport and tried to check in the lady was like have you done your declaration and I was like ???? No. Cue stress. Couldn’t check in without it.
    I said it’s not on smart travelers to do it and she said it is but I have re checked and no it’s not and my travel agent quit so possibly why the info wasn’t passed on. 😪😪
    Anyways, quickly did it at the counter.
    Lucky we were business with no one waiting behind us cause it took a while. The economy line would have been very annoyed at us. 😬
    I’ve sent an email to dad cause I doubt they have done it but have probs stressed them out more than anything as I didn’t actually explain anything properly. 😅 my bad. I’ll do a better job once at the hotel.
    My main worry is because Mum doesn’t have a smart phone and couldn’t have done a quick fix like we did. So must do beforehand. Hopefully their travel agent can help. Nothing major just has to be done.

    Went VIP line through customs then into the lounge. Not as fancy as I’d imagined tbh. You could get your moneys worth with the self serve bar though.
    Breakfast was a basic buffet and the chairs were more padded.

    The crew finally arrived and we gave everyone hug, they had a very quick feed before they had to turn around and go to their gate.

    Went to our gate, waited, boarded blah blah.

    Now we Fannnccyyyy.

    Everyone has their own little cube. So much leg space and I can sit cross legged in my chair which I looooove.

    The food has been amazing even though not enough. Absolutely bloody starving but I’ve just raided the free snacks section and shamelessly walked back with about 6 different things- chocolate, chips, passion fruit shortbread, pretzels, almonds and celery/carrot with dip lol.

    *insert dancing Winnie the Pooh gif with knife and fork dance*

    Have slept a bit. Need my elbow room where my arms sit at 90° from my body which I can’t do but still so much better than economy plebs. Haha
    I think Will fitted but is now sleeping upright. He is a little grumpy because he has a sore throat.
    Mine is super dry too from the recycled air.
    We both got the famous gray QANTAS pajamas so both quite happy about that. We weren’t sure cause it’s not a night flight.

    Time is definitely going quicker than usual but I’m having so much anxiety it’s insane. I think not knowing about the digital declaration has triggered my paranoia that I have forgotten something else and they won’t let me in. I think it’s a way bigger deal than usual cause peoples lives are affected if we don’t get in. They coming just for us .. 😅
    Also aware I don’t have Wi-Fi and don’t know Caesar’s address if I need to give it again or any info really.
    I have a little battery in my bag.
    I don’t have a medical certificate for the pill (never been and issue but have decided today it might be 🤦🏼‍♀️)
    And we have to get our bags and re drop them once in LA which I’ve never done. At least I’ll know they haven’t lost my wedding dress lol.

    Loosing the plot I tell you.

    The entertainment options on board are horseshit.

    Now I’m stressed because I haven’t heard from Craig (obviously because I’m on an airplane..) but that must mean Roberts dead.
    Hate my brain.

    Have been trying to get Wills attention to steal a buttermenthol off him but he is playing his snake game which is actually a great choice from him cause one round can take him like 2 hours. Great time killer lol.

    I’m a big ol sour puss about the exchange rate. USD is strongest it’s been in 20 years 🙃
    BUT am pleased we got cash out a few days ago at 59.8c because the airport rate was 52. Absolutely go get fucked.

    Am currently wearing engagement ring for once in my life. Hate. So stressed trying to sleep it feels like it’s going to fall off my finger.
    What a mood killer that would be 😊

    2 hours 6 mins to go. We think we should get our breakfast soon. We put in our ORDERS before takeoff and they have to have time to give them out, clean up and land.

    I’ve caught 1000 planes and been to 47 countries. I don’t know why I’m so bloody stressed. Far out.
    Read more