Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 70

    London

    22. desember 2022, England ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    I was surprised when Will said he had a good sleep, he was tossing and turning all night.
    It’s a double bed so a tight fit but i slept well too.
    Headed towards the Churchill War rooms because Will hadn’t done them.
    It’s very busy out and about.
    We walked through the Horse Guards Palace.
    Been before but was easier to envision the Queens funeral parade coming though the middle.
    Hadn’t seen the Royal guards in their winter stuff before.
    I wanted to eat before we went it because we have done this before - entered a museum on an empty stomach and struggled because we become hungry sick because we are in there hours.
    But literally nothing around - would have to walk back to Trafalgar Square which isnt actually that far but it’s about the pointless miles and I’m not wearing my walking shoes today 😅 ( In my jeans today and can’t get away with that fashion choice. Wearing tights is bad enough haha)
    So we risked it.
    The pound is the worstttttttt 😩😩
    It’s double.
    29.5 to enter or 26.5 without a donation.
    We didn’t give the donation so saved $12 hahahah
    Still over $100 to go.
    The highlights for me were enigma, the flag that covered Churchills coffin and footage from that, a letter from the king to Churchill and just seeing the map room, his bedroom and the cabinet war rooms.
    A worker saw me take a picture of the letter from the king to Churchill and got so excited he came over and gave me a history lesson - even pulled up a picture on his phone of the the letter in print incase I couldn’t read the running writing. Wild to think some people actually love their jobs that much.
    It was a lot of info and no seats. Why never any seats?
    I also felt very pressured to move quickly because of the layout. I was blocking people from info and the audio guides everyone gets for free are good but also so long that it keeps people standing in sections for way too long and it creates major traffic jams.
    I remember going with Mum and dad and a line existing. I don’t think we walked straight in.
    Today we did and I still felt too many people were inside. Peak season must be mental.

    I like all of Churchills quotes. They were everywhere and all very good.

    We then went to a pub for lunch.
    I saw a roast with gravy and was so keen to order but it’s only available on Sunday’s.
    Gutted haha.
    Will got bangers and mash.

    Came home and tried to write an itinerary for the remainder of our time here.
    Everything we want to do requires a train that is not working such as going to Bletchley park to see the code breaking rooms, Cambridge to see Newtons tree, Hampton court where King Henry VIII lived and even though I’ve been twice, Harry Potter world (🤣)
    But no.
    Also everything closed.
    Like everything.
    Which is expected but still super annoying.
    SO SAD WE CANT GET TO MANCHESTER TO HAVE CHRISTMAS WITH HELEN AND TOM. 😭😭
    Might be seeing a play with Bronte though so that hopefully works out.
    We then went to TGIFridays.
    Got my Jack Daniel glaze. 10/10
    Service was crap and they tip in restaurants here
    LAMMEEEEEEE
    BUT we noticed we weren’t charged for 2 cokes on the bill so instead of telling them that’s the amount we tipped.
    Everybody wins hahahahahha.
    We then walked through the Christmas markets outside and I bought an obnoxiously expensive Christmas tree ornament.
    I ummmmed and ahhhhed about which one to get cause I liked so many of them but ended up getting Harry Potter because it’s actually relevant to the location. It’s hand stitched and I actually really like it.
    We then went home and I have watched ‘the Holiday’ on the TV which is one of my top 5 movies of all time so loved that and have tried to find my kindle charging cord but it’s gone walkies.

    It’s nearly 1am bed time.
    Les mer