Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    On My Way to Galapagos

    March 9, 2021 in Ecuador ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Time to make a move. Next stop, Galapagos Islands . . . but first, I need to get a COVID PCR test, and meet my travel companion who is joining me for the next couple weeks.

    The day started with about 12 hours of rain. I caught a cab to the bus station in Playas, and it was super easy. Arrived, bought my ticket, and boarded the bus in less than 5 minutes, and less than 5 minutes after that . . . we were on our way. The 90 minute bus ride was uneventful, and I decided to walk the mile or so to my hostal. Checked in, dropped my backpack, and set off to find a COVID PCR test. I had a lead on a place called InterLab, and after looking it up on Google Maps, I set off walking again to make what turned out to be a three mile hike. First place told me to go to another building, but that building was really meant to be the one across the street . . . so after asking a couple friendly people, I made my way up to the testing site. Within 15 minutes, I ordered a test, paid the $80, and got my test done. Was out the door, and walked back to the hostal. Overall, a very successful day's effort.Read more