Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 248

    Labor Day 5K

    September 5, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    Labor Day has always been a big holiday in my hometown celebrating the end of summer . . . and school starting up again. Most of my schooling was back in the 1970s, and class sizes back then were growing. I believe my class of 1981 may have been one of the biggest at just over 150. From what I hear now, class sizes are closer to just 50, and they have to combine with another school several miles away just to field an 8 man football team. Times change . . . Anyway, over the past decade, they have added a 5K race to the holiday procession, and my buddy John and I have run it three times. This year it was in a steady rain, but it was just as much fun as always. We have tied on the two previous occasions, but this year he beat me . . . as you can see at the finish. 😆😆😆Read more