Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Day 47 - Strays

    March 26, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Matt is still not doing so well. I left him sleeping to go off to breakfast and have some quiet beach time. The beach is a different place at 8am before the hungover groups clutching hair of the dog stumble out. Luckily Matt was well enough to get up and make it to the ferry to Koh Lanta where he slept again. Mr Tan, the owner of our guest house came and picked us up from the pier which we were very grateful as we've never been bombarded quite so much by people wanting us to take taxis or tuk tuks. Mr Tan is the man!

    We attempted lunch. Matt ordered some toast which earned him a puzzled look from the waiter. I had a curry and as soon as it arrived a little cat came and sat next to me. I'm not sure curry is great for cats so I didn't feed her any of that. We tried her on a bit of rice and jam (neither of those are probably good either) but she wanted neither and it was then we realised she just wanted a fuss - though I'm sure tuna wouldn't have gone amiss if offered.

    Matt retired back to bed and I went to the beach which is only a couple of minutes from where we're staying. The beach itself is sandy most of the way to the sea but then there's a lot of rocks and little rock pools have formed. There were a lot of people trying to catch crabs and a ton of weird fish which looked like they were part lizard darted about. I walked for a while before picking a quiet spot, though it's actually heading into low season here so most of the beach was quiet. That was when I noticed a cow walking down the beach without a care in the world. We've seen a lot of stray cats and dogs but the cow was a first! I stayed out to watch sunset, which was not underwhelming for once, and went back to check on the patient. He was doing a little better and even managed some plain steamed rice for dinner - again earning him a funny look whilst piggy here at Pad Thai. I'd feel more guilty but I like to eat too much.

    On the way back we saw lots of hermit crabs - they're so weird and if you shine a light on them they just freeze in their shells. You could easily collect the shell and have no clue. Well I guess until it clawed you. Matt seems a bit brighter now he's managing to eat a bit so fingers crossed it's passing.
    Read more