Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Pozueta,Spain

    September 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    Where to begin!? For a part, it was just like in the description it was Rolling hills, vistas and countryside! . Really enjoyable……compared to yesterday. And for a large portion..
    The lovely rolling hills however, were climbs up 150m to 250m in a very short distance. The rolling part is more the portion they were referring to as ‘flat’. But it was lovely. It was also 93 degrees!
    First thing - 450m up in 4.5km at 7:30am. But that was OK because then we went down 150m in 2 inches of mud.
    NO PROBLEM! 😂.
    We were moving down a hill of mud ( there are no photos as that would caused a fall ) Then just as Natalie from Belgium said, “no one fall in the mud” and a gal from Texas fell and slid 2ft. Her back pack got the most of the mud.
    Luckily today there were villages every 5-10km to stop, have a caffe, sparking water, cake( for those who can) then 20 minutes later head out!
    As the day goes on the breaks also include taking shoes off, along with one pair of the two pair of socks we wear , so the feet get some air and perhaps dry out ( from body heat) agai also it gives one’s feet a rest so we can tackle the next hill. And there is ALWAYS ‘more up’.
    Rolling hills, mind you , refers to a drive through rolling hills, in some areas,…..in my opinion.
    As we head up, in am using poles to help propel me up. I am breathing heavily and not looking up to see how far. …… It’s better that way. We or I mentally cheer when we hit a short stretch of flat…. Or relatively first waking…. Maybe it’s just me, barely breathing and’ shouting’ hurray’ between gasps.
    By the end of a 25-31km day My feet hurt, the muscles, the bones, all parts hurt. I need a shower so badly it’s ridiculous, and I don’t normally sweat!. And the need of a shower starts writing an hour of walking.
    Then there are the solo conversations/ self reflections which are intriguing. I am resolving conflicts I didn’t even know I had to deal with.
    As Natalie will say, “ It is good”. (Use a French accent)
    Loving this experience!!!
    Read more