Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Baamonde, Spain

    September 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    I am liking the Horarios again!! The Galacian design is growing on me. And we are in an area where people are ’ loving’ on their Horarios.
    We walked through and by villages, cemeteries, and chapels backlit by the sun in the morning mist. We crossed stone bridges centuries old with ducks floating in the waters. We passed by age old buildings ignored and buildings still loved. We walked by so many green, green pastures photos would be boring! We loved every inch! 18km/11 miles-I so like the sound of the higher numbers reflected by the km. Doesn’t 18 sound so much better then 11!? 😆
    Now , we have only Five days away from Santiago . Five days!!! I am not certain I want it to end. But that’s the joy isn’t it. All good things …and all..
    An added note-something I now know, but didn’t at the start. People or families will start a Camino and if they only have or want 2 weeks , 11 days…whatever amount of time… then they stop and come back to resume where they left off . Our friend ( I like to hope she is now my friend too 😀) Natalie, comes for about 2 weeks from Belgium. She will resume this Camino next year or when she can. 😊👍💕. It’s not an all or nothing journey. ( No one told me😀😀. JK)
    We hit the 100km mark to Santiago today. Now Pilgrim traffic will pick up. The desire to get 2 stamps a day picks up. Ah, let me explain. To get a Compostela-proof you walked the Camino - one has a sort of ‘Passport’ for the Camino, a Credential del Peregrino (Pilgrim). Once in Santiago, you get in line to get your Compostela. Why would I not after all these miles, right!?
    Read more