Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Santiago de Compostela

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Left at 4am wanting to catch the noon mass 20km away.
    We walked in the dark with headlamps, phone light ( my fully charged headlamp had gotten turned on apparently in travel so it soon died), and street lights. No places open on a Sunday so we kept walking. Finally at 8am a Cafe opened. Hurray! First food or coffee since walking at 3:30am!!
    We headed out again and to our surprise arrived at 9am. The cathedral is stunning and the feel of happy, sweet and finality swept us up!
    Everyone one around us was taking photos to celebrate and mark the achievement and success!
    We then went to the Compostela office to receive our certificates!. Days, no, weeks ago Ingrid, another Pilgrim, had given us information so that we could pre-register online, for the line to get in. Rather then hours of waiting to be let in to wait to be called we walked right in!
    The American who was checking my stamps ( when you get a stamp each day, you or the proprietor of your hostel or Inn, write the date down to’prove you actually walked. When you reach the last 100km you need at least 2 a day). We had been getting 3 and 5 the last few days!!
    Just because there were so many cafes to stop at!
    I suddenly worried I had written a wrong date. As this nice gentleman was checking my dates and mileage to see if it matched the route!! Acckkk!! Don’t kick me out of line! He then explained HE wasn’t familiar with this route as he hasn’t walked it. Whew!
    He then grabbed THE STAMP, ceremoniously asked if I was ready 😊 and stamped my book,
    I, to my surprise, got tears in my eyes! Who knew! 803km! Verified stamped and approved!!!
    Then on to the certificates! Calligraphy, gothic/Romanesque-beautiful! Your name in Latin printed on it. It’s beautiful! Mary, my first name is easy, Miriam. There is no Latin for Holly. We discussed what the computer wanted to assign me which was Holiday in latin. Because one really must have it in Latin.
    It’s Holly on my certificate, that’s me, no apologize. 😉
    We received our Compostela’s -certificates of proof of walking the Camino. In this case Del Norte, by 10am!! More photos!
    Then off to wait in line to get in to the cathedral for the noon Pilgrim’s mass! We made it! Hungry,, dirty, no seating and 20km to get there! We made it!!!!❤️.
    As we waited an hour for mass to begin a priest walked up to greet us out of all the many hundreds people there he came to us. He opened his mouth and the best Irish lilt (accent) came rolling off his tongue! He was only here for this weekend. He hadn’t been before.
    Those of you who know me, know this amazed and ‘warmed’ my heart!! Irish! Just for me on this special day? Could it get any better!? And he was a ‘Dublin man, don’tcha know’. 😉 ☘️ ☘️☘️
    Mass was in several languages different speakers participated. There was a benediction at the end of mass for all the pilgrims. They use a swinging Botafumeiro that is at least my height to burn the incense setting it over our heads and bless all at mass. Amazing and awe inspiring.
    We showered , then the three of us, ate a lunch ( more like an early dinner with the best Sangria here so far) and walked this amazing city. I did a bit of shopping while Tammy did the laundry, so sweet to give me the time to shop for the family. Phil came with me so he has his gift. ❤️. 😇 Love you Phil! I have felt him so often!
    We had a last dinner together, Tammy, Meelike and I ate at one of the many street side cafe’s all over Spain and especially in Santiago de Compostela. Lovely end to an amazing life changing adventure! See you all soon! Love to all!
    On to Finisterre!!
    On a bus! 🤣🤣
    Read more